Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

January 11, 2013

Children’s: What Pulitzer-winning playwright saw her picture book Pamela’s First Musical actually performed as a musical, in 2002?

Classics: What 19th-century writer set his novels in the hills near Lake Otsego, which he called “Glimmerglass”?

Non-Fiction: What Kitty Kelley expose did Warner Books decline to publish in Britain, out of respect for that nation’s strict libel laws?

Book Club: What sport did John Updike’s Harry “Rabbit” Angstrom star in as a high schooler?

Authors: Who was shocked when Glitz became a New York Times bestseller, noting “I didn’t think I wrote well enough or poorly enough to hit the list”?

Book Bag: Who’s written the most James Bond novels–Ian Fleming, John E. Gardner or Raymond Benson?

 

 

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2013 8:37 am

    Hmm. WordPress ate my comment. I’ll try again and hope I’m not just making you read the same thing twice.

    Children’s: Wendy Wasserstein

    Classics: James Fenimore Cooper

    Non-Fiction: Not sure. Did she do a bio of Margaret Thatcher?

    Book Club: Rabbit Run? Track.

    Authors: My first thought was Judith Krantz (probably because the title makes me think of Scruples), but I think it’s got to be someone more respectable.

    Book Bag: I didn’t know that anyone besides Fleming had written any, although I’m not surprised to hear of it. I’ve only ever read Fleming, but since he’s been gone for a while, I’d guess it’s one of the other two.

    • January 14, 2013 9:02 am

      I don’t know what happened with WP; I only see this one comment.

  2. January 11, 2013 9:53 am

    Book Club: Basketball, I think.

    Authors: Elmore Leonard

  3. January 11, 2013 12:14 pm

    1. Wendy Wasserstein
    and the last john gardner?

  4. January 11, 2013 12:21 pm

    I’m guessing JF Cooper and Basketball.

  5. January 11, 2013 5:00 pm

    James Fenimore Cooper; The Royals; basketball. That’s all I got, and more than I mostly have.

  6. January 11, 2013 7:18 pm

    I know zero of these. I want you to know that at first I was going to pretend I knew two of them — James Fennimore Cooper and basketball — because I felt like if I stole my own mother’s answers it wouldn’t really be cheating. But then I noticed that bore no resemblance to real world logic. I know zero. Is the truth.

    • January 14, 2013 9:06 am

      One of the things I like about fiction is that occasionally a person can claim to have read something and then go off and read it afterwards and it makes no difference in the real world when they read it. Fiction can make lies come true.

  7. January 13, 2013 5:19 pm

    I know zero. Fail.

  8. January 14, 2013 9:07 am

    Children’s: Wendy Wasserstein
    Classics: James Fenimore Cooper
    Non-Fiction: The Royals
    Book Club: Basketball
    Authors: Elmore Leonard
    Book Bag: John E. Gardner

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 369 other followers

