Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

July 26, 2013

Children’s: What title character visits Earth from his home on asteroid B612?

Classics: What fictional Ohio town did Sherwood Anderson populate with “grotesques” like Doctor Reefy and Alice Hindman?

Non-Fiction: Who recounts his TV spats with folks like Susan Sarandon and Al Sharpton, in The No-Spin Zone?

Book Club: Whose novel Diary has Misty Wilmot describing the weather on Waytansea Island as “partly furious with occasional fits of rage”?

Authors: What mystery writer founded the famed Adams Round Table with Thomas Chastain, in 1982?

Book Bag: What tale by Laura Zigman finds frustrated executive Ellen Franck considering a Muppet to become the father of her child?

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2013 7:33 am

    It figures that I’d know the Children’s answer – it’s The Little Prince.

  2. Karen D permalink
    July 26, 2013 8:37 am

    The Little Prince is the only one I know.

  3. July 26, 2013 1:58 pm

    Children’s: The Little Prince (my 7-year-old nephew just read this one for the 1st time!)

    Classics: Winesburg

    Non-Fiction: Bill O’Reilly?

  4. July 26, 2013 7:26 pm

    Okay, on the one hand, I only knew two of these (Little Prince and Winesburg) and that’s not great. But on the OTHER hand, it took me a really long time to fish “Winesburg” out of my memory because I don’t care about American literature, and I feel rather proud of myself for managing to remember it.

  5. July 28, 2013 6:01 pm

    Children’s: The Little Prince

    Classics: Winesburg

    Non-Fiction: Bill O’Reilly

    Book Club: Chuck Palahniuk. Why can I never remember where to stick the H in his name?

    Authors: ?

    Book Bag: ?

  6. July 29, 2013 9:40 am

    Children’s: The Little Prince
    Classics: Winesburg
    Non-Fiction: Bill O’Reilly
    Book Club: Chuck Palahniuk
    Authors: Mary Higgins Clark
    Book Bag: Dating Big Bird

  7. July 31, 2013 10:35 pm

    I’m late to the party here, but I just wanted to throw out there that I grew up in the next town over from “Winesburg” Ohio (it’s actually Clyde). There was a neat restaurant in town called The Winesburg Inn. I remember it as being huge, large rooms with high ceilings and things (including a really old airplane) hanging way up high.

    • August 1, 2013 8:11 am

      I had no idea I’d ever met anyone who had actually been to Winesburg, Ohio!

  8. August 13, 2013 3:02 pm

    I like the weather report.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 334 other followers

