Skip to content

>Trivial Pursuit for Book-Lovers

April 23, 2010

>Children’s: What pen name did Marijane Meaker adopt for the books Deliver Us from Evie, Dinky Hocker Shoots Smack! and Shoebag?

Classics: What Chekhov play centers on unfulfilled siblings named Olga, Masha and Irina?

Non-Fiction: What illustrated David Macaulay book depicts the maze of support systems beneath a modern city?

Book Club: What novel by Marianne Wiggins finds an amateur chemist from Kitty Hawk falling for a glassblower’s daughter?

Authors: What author of Rubyfruit Jungle warned “Next time anyone calls me a lesbian writer I’m going to knock their teeth in”?

Book Bag: What 1996 best-selling novel began as a newspaper column for Britain’s Independent?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 4:12 pm

    >Classics: Three SistersAuthors: Rita Mae BrownBook Bag: Bridgit Jones' Diary? (guessing on this one)"Dinky Hocker" is making me nuts at the moment – I remember reading it as a kid, but cannot recall the author.

  2. April 23, 2010 4:20 pm

    >Non-fiction: Underground.There was a Chekhov film festival here a week or so ago and I cannot believe I missed every single film. Next year I will not miss anything.

  3. April 23, 2010 4:33 pm

    >The last has to be Bridget Jones' Diary, but I don't know any of the others.

  4. April 23, 2010 5:30 pm

    >I'm not looking at other comments so I can play long, so forgive the repeats.Children's: M.E. Kerr. I've never read her books, but I know of her through her association with Louise FitzhughClassics: Three SistersNon-Fiction: Underground — love this one. Love all Macaulay, actually. Book Club: ??? Isn't she the one who used to be married to Rushdie?Authors: Rita Mae BrownBook Bag: Bridget Jones, I think.

  5. April 23, 2010 5:39 pm

    >Harriet, yes she did use to be married to Rushdie.

  6. April 26, 2010 12:49 pm

    >Children's: M.E. KerrClassics: Three SistersNon-Fiction: UndergroundBook Club: Evidence of Things UnseenAuthors: Rita Mae BrownBook Bag: Bridget Jones' DiaryAs a group (especially with Harriet's help), we got all but one, the Wiggins novel.

  7. April 27, 2010 8:24 pm

    >The only one I knew was authors, but other people already answered it.

  8. April 27, 2010 9:43 pm

    >Kathy, We're all just showing off, anyway. I should probably offer prizes for the first answer in each category some Friday in the future. That might add some interest to the game.

Leave a Reply

