Skip to content

>Trivial Pursuit for Book-Lovers

June 4, 2010

>Children’s: What magical item does Sylvester the donkey hold in his mouth so he can turn himself into a rock, in William Steig’s classic children’s tale?

Classics: What best-selling political expose spawned a 1976 sequel called The Final Days?

Non-Fiction: What former police chief recounts the search for Maryland’s serial sniper, in Three Weeks in October?

Book Club: What Michael Ondaatje novel sends a forensic anthropologist to dig up skeletons in Sri Lanka?

Authors: Who added to the mystery of his illustrated stories by sprinkling in anagrams of his own name, like Raddory Gewe and E.G. Deadworry?

Book Bag: What heroic crook returned to Richard Stark crime novels after 23 years, in the 1997 novel Comeback?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 12:45 pm

    >Oooh, ooh, I know THREE! (This is remarkable, for me.)Sylvester has a pebble. (His parents miss him so much when he is a rock!)Ondaatje's Anil's Ghost (not as well-loved as The English Patient, but still worth your time)And the artist author is Edward Gorey.

  2. June 4, 2010 12:55 pm

    >The magic pebble (children's), Edward Gorey (author), and Parker (book bag). Love Donald Westlake.

  3. June 4, 2010 1:19 pm

    >Okay I read this in complete bewilderment, wondering why you wrote to say one is for me, and then I read the answers people put up. I had no idea Edward Gorey did that! New fact of the day for me! 🙂

  4. June 4, 2010 2:07 pm

    >Children's: a magic pebbleClassics: All the President's MenNon-Fiction: ?Book Club: Anil's GhostAuthors: Edward Gorey Book Bag: I should know this, but I don't.

  5. June 4, 2010 6:11 pm

    >A pebble!And Edward Gorey.

  6. June 5, 2010 12:47 pm

    >*embarrassing ignorance*I know a pebble, and I have de-anagrammed the anagrams to get Edward Gorey, but that is all.(Funny this card brings up the sniper! I was just talking about that with my sister yesterday.)

  7. June 6, 2010 10:23 pm

    >The only one I knew was Anil's Ghost and I see someone beat me to it.

  8. June 7, 2010 5:58 pm

    >Children's: a pebbleClassics: All the President's MenNon-Fiction: Charles MooseBook Club: Anil's GhostAuthors: Edward GoreyBook Bag: ParkerOnce again, no surprise, we're well-read as a group except for non-fiction! I loved the Edward Gorey question, which illustrates how easy it sometimes is to work out one of the answers to these questions.

  9. June 8, 2010 10:03 pm

    >I actually read far more non-fiction than fiction, but fiction gets talked about. Non-fiction in general is more area focused, so while you may know some, you are unlikely to know all, as we tend to focus on specific interests in a way most of us don't on fiction.

Leave a Reply

