Skip to content

>Trivial Pursuit for Book-Lovers

July 30, 2010

>Children’s: What poem from Through The Looking Glass inspires Alice’s remark “It seems very pretty, but it’s rather hard to understand”?

Classics: What 1826 frontier tale ends by noting: “The pale faces are masters of the earth”?

Non-Fiction: What writer shrewdly timed his travel tome In a Sunburned Country to come out during the 2000 Sydney Olympics?

Book Club: What book by Pat Conroy begins: “I was born to be a point guard, but not a very good one”?

Authors: What name did Alice Sheldon adopt for her science-fiction series, leading Robert Silverberg to claim her writing was “ineluctably masculine”?

Book Bag: What Wild West card shark’s demise is central to Pete Dexter’s comedy Deadwood?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 1:19 pm

    >Children's: JabberwockyClassics: Last of the MohicansNon-Fiction: Bill BrysonBook Club: My Losing Season (those of us who spend time in SC need to be familiar with Conroy, although I haven't actually read this one)Authors: Once again, my lack of familiarity with the sci-fi genre as a whole rears its ugly headBook Bag: I don't know, but I thought it was "card sharp." I'm off to investigate.

  2. July 30, 2010 1:47 pm

    >I have no idea what the answer to the classics question is, but out of context, that line is really, really disturbing.

  3. July 30, 2010 2:59 pm

    >This is a great one!Children's: Jabberwocky
Classics: Last of the Mohicans
Non-Fiction: Bill Bryson
Book Bag: Wild Bill Hickock

  4. July 30, 2010 9:40 pm

    >Children's: JabberwockyClassics: I'm assuming Last of the Mohicans though I don't really knowNonfiction: Bill BrysonBook Bag: I totally know this one! But I can't think of it.

  5. August 2, 2010 1:02 pm

    >Children's: JabberwockyClassics: The Last of the MohicansNon-Fiction: Bill BrysonBook Club: My Losing SeasonAuthors: James Tiptree Jr.Book Bag: "Wild Bill" Hickok'sYay for everyone who played, because you got them right!Harriet, I didn't even know the SF one this time.Amanda, that's one reason it's important to read the classics–so you get the irony the way it read before it became an allusion.

  6. August 2, 2010 10:59 pm

    >Jabberwocky?The only one I'm sure of is NF: Bill Bryson.

  7. August 3, 2010 1:42 pm

    >I am so lame, I only know the NF answer is Bill Bryson. I'm pathetic.

  8. August 3, 2010 9:57 pm

    >Karen, both are right.KarenLibrarian, people who have been playing this for a while admire anyone who gets one right. These cards are difficult!

Leave a Reply

