Skip to content

>Trivial Pursuit for Book-Lovers

December 3, 2010

>Children’s: What Natalie Babbitt classic leaves Jesse Tuck stuck as a perpetual teen, after a sip from the fountain of youth?

Classics: What Thomas Hardy novel sees the Yeobright family tromp up and down old Egdon Heath?

Non-Fiction: What Farley Mowat book told of his excursion into the Arctic to find why caribou were vanishing?

Book Club: What Mark Medoff play finds a teacher at a school for the deaf engaged in a sign-language battle of wits with a rebellious kitchen-maid?

Authors: What romance author, living in Invergowie by Dundee, was Scotland’s highest-earning writer until J.K. Rowling started bewitching readers?

Book Bag: What Elmore Leonard book stars “Big Bob Gibbs, a judge who likes to throw the book at crooks?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 1:28 pm

    >Is it weird that when I see that classics question, I get all nostalgic for a reading experience earlier this year? It makes me want to run and pick up another Hardy!! That would be Return of the Native. As for the others…no idea!! 😀

  2. December 3, 2010 1:34 pm

    >Tuck EverlastingReturn of the Native (ugh)No idea on the others, unfortunately

  3. December 3, 2010 1:34 pm

    >Children's: Tuck EverlastingClassics: Return of the NativeNon-Fiction: ?Book Club: Children of a Lesser GodAuthors: ?Book Bag: I haven't read this, but I"m guessing Maximum Bob. What's with all the Elmore Leonard questions?

  4. December 3, 2010 1:59 pm

    >Childrens: Tuck EverlastingSadly, that's all I know, but at least I knew one! 🙂

  5. December 3, 2010 2:23 pm

    >There is no way it's Friday already 😦

  6. December 3, 2010 7:25 pm

    >Children's: Tuck Everlasting I love that book.

  7. December 3, 2010 11:40 pm

    >Non-Fiction: NEVER CRY WOLF.We studied it in school, along with most of Mowat's other work. I think they made a movie, too; I remember him eating mice to prove that the wolves subsisted off of those, not the caribou.

  8. December 4, 2010 2:26 pm

    >The only one I've got is Never Cry Wolf! But I've been mulling over giving Hardy another chance next year, and now I keep seeing him mentioned in blog posts. I think the universe is telling me something. 😉

  9. December 6, 2010 1:48 pm

    >Children's: Tuck EverlastingClassics: The Return of the NativeNon-Fiction: Never Cry WolfBook Club: Children of a Lesser GodAuthors: Rosamunde PilcherBook Bag: Maximum BobAmanda,I don't think it's weird, as I get that way for almost every one I know the answer for!Harriet, I was thinking as I typed this one "what's with all the Elmore Leonard questions?" He is one of my least favorite authors.Memory, I remember that part!Eva, I read all of Hardy as an adolescent, which makes the moodiness easier to take.

Leave a Reply

