Skip to content

Read any new poems lately?

June 2, 2011

I’m a voting member for the 2011 Indie Lit Awards in the Poetry category, which means I need your suggestions for the best poetry published in the last year, and then I get to help decide which poetry volume of 2011 is the one bloggers and readers enjoy the most.

Book bloggers interested in exploring books in any category should visit the Indie Lit Awards site and sign up in their preferred genre. But all readers—not just book bloggers—will be able to nominate books this year; here is more detail about nominations.

For those of you interested in poetry, here’s a list of some of the poetry volumes published in 2011. Please add to the list, so we get lots of good nominations and include your favorites.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 9:07 am

    Thanks for posting about this. I hope we get some more suggestions. I’ve tried to keep adding to the list when I can.

    • June 2, 2011 9:52 am

      The longer the list, the better! I have been trying to add some titles, but encountered some technical difficulties. You should be getting four more titles from me sometime today.

  2. June 2, 2011 9:32 am

    But 2011 is not even half over! Isn’t it a little soon for a “best of?”

    • June 2, 2011 9:51 am

      I think the intent is to get people reading the poems that are coming out right now. Then we take nominations in the fall, as the year begins to draw to its close.

  3. freshhell permalink
    June 2, 2011 11:04 am

    Well, I will not be any help to you. I haven’t read any poetry – outside your blog – since I was forced to in college. I prefer prose.

    • June 2, 2011 4:52 pm

      You are one of the people I delight in forcing poetry upon. I’d have appended a poem to that post, but was desperately trying to accomplish in two days what I’d scheduled for three… I actually have books I want to write about, but no time this week. Maybe next.

  4. freshhell permalink
    June 3, 2011 9:58 am

    Hee! I’m your hardest case, yes?

  5. June 7, 2011 10:34 am

    That list should contain Illinois, My Apologies by Justin Hamm.

    He would be delighted to send any interested party a copy.

Leave a Reply

