Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

June 17, 2011

Children’s: What youthful sleuth regularly locks horns with local bully Bugs Meany?

Classics: What classic yuletide movie was based on the Jean Shepherd book In God We Trust, All Others Pay Cash?

Non-Fiction: What book did John Feinstein pen, after sending a year with Bobby Knight and his Hoosiers squad?

Book Club: What Beverly Hills department store employs Mirabella, the empty young woman who sells gloves in Steve Martin’s Shopgirl?

Authors: What Bronx-born author ditched his birth name Herman for his Hebrew name meaning “life”?

Book Bag: Who first cracked the New York Times bestseller list in 1988 with Moonspun Magic, the last book of her Regency Magic Trilogy?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 8:27 am

    Children’s: Encyclopedia Brown

    Classics: A Christmas Story

    Non-Fiction: ?

    Book Club: Neiman Marcus

    Authors: Chaim Potok

    Book Bag: ?

  2. June 17, 2011 8:40 am

    How sad — the only one I even guessed at was the Children’s (Encyclopedia Brown).

  3. June 17, 2011 3:57 pm

    Children’s: Encyclopedia Brown

    Classics: A Christmas Story (he was raised in Indiana!)

    Book Club: Neiman Marcus

    Authors: Potok

    • June 20, 2011 8:39 am

      It must have been hard, being a guy raised in Indiana with a name like Jean. I still get people who don’t know that “Gene” is a male spelling.

  4. freshhell permalink
    June 17, 2011 10:49 pm

    Encyclopedia Brown and A Christmas Story are the only ones I know.

  5. June 18, 2011 9:47 am

    Children’s: Encyclopedia Brown
    Authors: Chaim Potok

    *sigh* I wish I were better at this game. I feel poorly read.

    • June 20, 2011 8:37 am

      I think I’m fairly widely read, since I have a PhD in English literature and took comprehensive exams. Also I’m older, so have been reading for more years. And still I’m lucky to get two or three of these each week.

  6. June 19, 2011 11:13 pm

    Ooh, I can’t believe that I’ll be the first to get this. But maybe, I’ve an advantage, because I’m an IU grad. Feinstein’s book is “A season on the brink”, which I have never read, but I’ll get to one of these days.

  7. June 20, 2011 8:35 am

    Children’s: Encyclopedia Brown
    Classics: A Christmas Story
    Non-Fiction: A Season on the Brink
    Book Club: Nieman Marcus
    Authors: Chaim Potok
    Book Bag: Catherine Coulter

Leave a Reply

