Skip to content

The Bat

June 21, 2011

A poem for the summer solstice, by Frank Jacobs.

The Bat

Bats are creepy; bats are scary;
Bats do not seem sanitary;
Bats in gloomy caves keep cozy;
Bats remind us of Lugosi;
Bats have webby wings that fold up;
Bats from ceilings hang down rolled up;
Bats when flying undismayed are;
Bats are careful; bats use radar;
Bats at nighttime at their best are;
Bats by Batman unimpressed are.

Ron’s favorite thing on the night of the solstice is to try to get people to read the parts of A Midsummer Night’s Dream out loud. Mine is to be outside.  Seeing fireflies. Seeing bats.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 5:19 pm

    I have terrible eyes that can’t see bats in the dusk. So I have never never seen a bat, even when we had them in our house (when I lived in Maine). I WANT TO SEE BATS.

    • June 22, 2011 3:34 pm

      The first time I noticed bats was when we lived in an apartment building in a very urban area literally feet from the Baltimore-Washington Parkway. The power went out, and we couldn’t sleep in the heat of our bedroom, so we went out on the apartment balcony and discovered that the floor of our neighbor’s balcony, directly above ours, was literally covered with hanging bats, who were gradually waking up and zooming out into the night to do their mosquito-eating. It was just magical…and a little eerie. Now I know more of where to look, and what to look for. But yes, I’ve always had good eyesight.

  2. freshhell permalink
    June 21, 2011 7:09 pm

    We have bats but I always think I’m seeing groups of birds flying at dusk. I think because I’m nearsighted. I do not sit outside at that time of day because I get eaten by mosquitoes. But I do like summer and the solstice. I wish it was always summer. Maybe a week of fall and two weeks of spring. But that’s all I’m willing to compromise.

    • June 22, 2011 3:31 pm

      I’m with you. I want to live in Summerland.
      Sometimes I think it’s worth it to sit outside past dusk, but I do cover myself thoroughly with mosquito spray, including rubbing it all around my eyes because they can find the smallest unprotected spot! The more bats, the better.

  3. June 22, 2011 3:19 pm

    We did not read Midsummer Night’s Dream aloud because we were outside. No fireflies here, but we had a bonfire, and the cats prowled around the garden and the plums fell off the tree and hit us on the head. Except for the plums it was lovely.

    • June 22, 2011 3:29 pm

      Did you sing “These Plums are too Ripe” from The Fantastiks?

  4. June 22, 2011 8:50 pm

    Love this poem!!!! And I saw my first “bats” of summer the other night. Took me awhile to figure out what it was!

  5. June 22, 2011 9:06 pm

    Jenners, they do look different from birds; I think it’s the swooping motions that first make me aware of what I’m seeing.

Leave a Reply

