Skip to content

Today I Was Happy, So I Made This Poem

June 30, 2011

Today is a happy day here at non-necromancy manor.  We had a bit of scheduling difficulty with our summer plans because of the behavior of a small-town oral surgeon who canceled the removal of Eleanor’s wisdom teeth without warning or explanation, causing us to have to re-schedule the whole process with the only other place in town. And let me tell you, that’s not easy–every high school senior who didn’t have wisdom teeth out during spring break is having them out this summer.  But we got in with a different surgeon on a cancellation, and Eleanor’s teeth “popped” out easily yesterday. She is doing so well that she’s getting by on over-the-counter painkillers, and we’re happy because this means our fourth of July weekend plans, which involve three other families, won’t have to be canceled.

Also it has finally quit raining here, at least for a couple of days. What a difference seeing the sun makes!  The days between the fourth of July and my birthday on the eighth are usually the best weather of the whole year, here in Ohio. They’re the days to which I’m always looking forward.  They are the days that make me think of James Wright poems; he lived in Ohio, although my favorite poem of his was written about Minnesota (“Lying in a Hammock at William Duffy’s Farm in Pine Island, Minnesota“).  It’s the brevity of the summer in the north that makes it especially precious; there’s a kind of defiance in the planting of annuals up here.

Anyway, this is the poem for today, by James Wright:

Today I Was Happy, So I Made This Poem

As the plump squirrel scampers
Across the roof of the corncrib,
The moon suddenly stands up in the darkness,
And I see that it is impossible to die.
Each moment of time is a mountain.
An eagle rejoices in the oak trees of heaven,
Crying.
This is what I wanted.

Yep. This is it. Today. This is what I wanted.  Is it what you wanted, too?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    June 30, 2011 9:58 am

    Pretty much! Glad E’s recovering well. Happy almost-birthday to you!

    • June 30, 2011 10:01 am

      I thought you’d like the line “each moment of time is a mountain” as much as I do. Because you are my partner in loving the summer as much as it’s possible to love it.

  2. June 30, 2011 10:24 am

    Your birthday is on July 8? Mine too! And I agree — the space between July 1 and July 8 is usually just beautiful. It’s probably my favorite time of the year.

    • June 30, 2011 11:01 am

      Before blogging, I’d never known anyone who shared my birthday! Now I know you and ReadersGuide’s husband!

  3. freshhell permalink
    June 30, 2011 10:25 am

    I am SO loving it though annoyed that everywhere I go (even my own HOUSE), I have to wear a sweater against the a/c that all the weak-willed people feel the need to crank! I actually had to turn on the space heater yesterday at work. I generally make up for it with hour-long weeding sessions in the garden with the sun on my back.

    • June 30, 2011 11:03 am

      Before we saw Return of the King on Tuesday night, we made time to have dinner in Columbus, and we sat outside. My friend Carol and I, who are heat-lovers, immediately took the seats in the sun. And then my friend Ben, who was being particularly agreeable, took the other one mostly in the sun. Our northern children sat in the shade.

  4. June 30, 2011 10:42 am

    It’s June 30 and still no a/c at lemming headquarters. Indy is due for temps in the 90s this weekend, but I am hoping to tough it out.

    • June 30, 2011 11:06 am

      We had central a/c installed when Eleanor was one, and we’ve had it on about 74 this week so she can get what sleep she can (usually she’s a stomach-sleeper, but not last night or tonight).

  5. bookgazing permalink
    June 30, 2011 10:51 am

    I’m loving it when the sun is out, less so when the sun is replaced by black clouds before I walk to my bus home and I’ve got a t-shirt on. It WILL be glorious sunshine when you arrive though, you’ll bring it with you no matter the luggae allowance right?

    • June 30, 2011 11:07 am

      We will do our best. Last time I was in London (1999) it was such a “heat wave” (sunny and in the 80s) that grown men were stripping down to their underwear in Hyde Park. Americans think this is very funny.

      • bookgazing permalink
        June 30, 2011 7:14 pm

        I had forgotten they could do that y’know just walk around without shirts. I was startled like a proper prude the other day (like you say wasn’t even that sunny). They all wear shorts at the mo because the weather people said it was summer.

        • June 30, 2011 9:42 pm

          A couple of summers ago when we went to France, Ron didn’t take shorts, partly because we’d read that they make Americans stand out as tourists. Then we got to Nice, and he started making jokes about needing capri pants, which are something European men wear that American men do not.

          Surely on our Swallows and Amazons cruise everyone can wear shorts, though.

  6. June 30, 2011 11:41 am

    No AC here yet either, but probably coming this afternoon or tomorrow, when it’s supposed to push triple digits. But it’s been spectacular here the last couple of days. It’s enough to make it hard for a person to decide whether to move to the big city.

  7. June 30, 2011 11:50 am

    You are definitely in the mood for this poem. You’re in the “I see it is impossible to die” mood about where you live, since you’re suddenly seeing it from the perspective of someone who might be leaving. And yet…think of water. Move.

  8. freshhell permalink
    June 30, 2011 12:03 pm

    We’ve had the a/c on for some time. There was a long string of 95+ days earlier this month and then, when it topped out at 98, the a/c unit broke. My husband is too much of a wuss to tough it out like I can. I am made of stronger stuff having grown up in Humidity Capital of the South with no a/c. I usually try to keep the thermostat at 80 but I’ve noticed it has been pushed down to 78. Which is too cold for this tropical flower.

    • June 30, 2011 2:02 pm

      What with having northern children and living up here for long enough that my blood has thickened up, I don’t enjoy 80 inside the house the way I used to. A pity, isn’t it?

  9. Jenny permalink
    June 30, 2011 1:32 pm

    My goodness, July 8 is my birthday, too! And I, too, live in the north (eastern Washington state), and today is sunny and breezy and a perfect reason to live forever.

    • June 30, 2011 2:03 pm

      Jenny! Welcome to the eighth of July birthday club! And how amazing that it’s a nice day pretty much coast to coast today!

  10. June 30, 2011 2:34 pm

    I definitely wish I could take your rain from you. I’m so depressed by the days of endless sunshine (read: excruciating heat). 😀 Glad the wisdom teeth thing works out. Now that we’ve started Morrigan on ortho, I have no more illusions that any of our kids will end up as lucky and their parents. Jase doesn’t even have two of his wisdom teeth (they never formed, not in the gums either), and the other two came in without a problem and have room. I got all four of mine by 15 and they all fit perfectly. Dentists are always surprised to see I have them…

    • June 30, 2011 3:29 pm

      I had to have my wisdom teeth out right after we got married; one got impacted and infected and all kinds of nasty things, and I backed our new car into a post at the oral surgeon because it hurt so bad, and then we had to pay for the surgery out of minimum wage paychecks and it hurt to bend over the moving boxes the next week… Ron still says he should have looked in my mouth before he married me!

  11. Elizabeth permalink
    June 30, 2011 5:10 pm

    We have AC but living in Boston and living in the cave aka heat sink/grotto, we rarely need to turn it on. In fact, when we do turn it on it’s because we need to purge the house of excess humidity, not heat.

    Glad E’s doing well with the oral surgery. Mine wasn’t bad except for the drugs, which made me nauseous.

    • June 30, 2011 9:32 pm

      She has so far not taken anything except Tylenol and Advil. At this point, I don’t think she’ll need to. She and I both try to avoid other painkillers because of all the other effects.

  12. June 30, 2011 8:13 pm

    I’m glad Eleanor’s wisdom teeth removal went well! I had a weeeeird (but not unpleasant) reaction to the Versed, a nausea reaction to the painkiller they gave me after I came out, and a dry socket subsequently. She avoided the first two and I will keep my fingers crossed for the third. Dry socket was awful and the stuff they put in my mouth to heal it tasted like horseradish or something. I mean I like horseradish but not every moment.

    • June 30, 2011 9:33 pm

      We are pretty paranoid about the whole dry socket scenario. Her doctor also gave us a bad mental image about what can happen if you blow your nose too hard right after having your wisdom teeth removed.

  13. July 10, 2011 8:44 pm

    You always have the best little poems to share.

    And I’m sure the teeth did not “pop” out. : ) I’ve never heard that particular procedure described quite like that!!!

    • July 10, 2011 10:27 pm

      I actually repeated the word the assistant used–one of the teeth actually popped into the air and she had to catch it. But I think she said “popped” mostly because they didn’t have to cut any of them into pieces.
      Eleanor is healing well. She still has a little pain, and is so tired of soft foods she’s eating a few things that require a bit of chewing with the front teeth.

Leave a Reply

