Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

July 8, 2011

Children’s: What children’s book digs up the most dirt from the bottom of dried-up Green Lake?

Classics: What Victor Hugo novel boasts a brain-numbing 823-word sentence, peppered with 51 semicolons and 93 commas?

Non-Fiction: What sports figure is The Chosen One, according to a David Owens book title?

Book Club: What 1999 novel did former private investigator Andre Dubus III write from the relative quiet of his car, while parked at a local cemetery?

Authors: Who was the first British author to land her book on France’s bestseller list, in 2003?

Book Bag: What Floridian created a recluse named Skink, who skulks about avenging crimes against the environment, for his mystery Double Whammy?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2011 7:55 am

    Hmmm. . .

    Children’s: Holes by Louis Sacher

    Classics: It has to be Les Miserables!

    Non-Fiction: No idea

    Book Club: House of Sand and Fog

    Authors: J. K. Rowling?

    Book Bag: Carl Hiassan

    Well, that’s at least 5/6 guesses this week — I think it’s a record for me!

  2. July 8, 2011 8:07 am

    Children’s: Sachar’s Holes

    Classics: Les Miserables

    Non-Fiction: Tiger Woods

    Book Club: House of Sand and Fog? It’s the only title I know of by the author, but I haven’t read it or anything else by him.

    Authors: Rowling, I assume. She seems to have broken most other records.

    Book Bag: Hiassen? I still have only read one of his books, but I think I recognize this title and I know he’s from Florida.

  3. July 8, 2011 11:32 am

    I’ve got Holes and Hiassen, and House of Sand and Fog (which is an excellent movie, by the way). And I agree that it must be Rowling.

  4. July 8, 2011 1:45 pm

    Classics: Les Mis

    Book Club: The House of Sand and Fog (that’s the only book I know by that author)

    Authors: Rowling

  5. Karen permalink
    July 10, 2011 8:39 pm

    I can guess Les Miserables for the Hugo novel. I’d guess Rowling for the British author. Other than that, I’m drawing a blank. Elmore Leonard is the one I thought of for the last question, but I see that your more knowledgeable readers have a different consensus answer. I’m sure they’re right!

  6. July 11, 2011 8:48 am

    Children’s: Holes
    Classics: Les Miserables
    Non-Fiction: Tiger Woods
    Book Club: House of Sand and Fog
    Authors: J.K. Rowling
    Book Bag: Carl Hiaasen

    Good work, knowledgeable readers!

Leave a Reply

