Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

July 29, 2011

Children’s: What title character is carried away from his family by The Man with the Yellow Hat?

Classics: What novel by Willa Cather consists largely of Nebraskan Jim Burden’s nostalgic memories of his Bohemian childhood friend?

Non-Fiction: What Weight Watchers pitchwoman penned Dieting with The Duchess?

Book Club: What 2001 Ian McEwan novel follows Briony Tallis for sixty years, as she attempts to make amends for a childhood mistake?

Authors: What European nation is the setting for Henning Mankell’s tales of police inspector Kurt Wallender?

Book Bag: What gossip columnist credits her Yorkshire terrier with easing the pain of her hubby’s death, in The Gift of Jazzy?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2011 7:57 am

    Children’s: Curious Geoerge

    Classics: My Antonia

    Non-Fiction: Sarah Ferguson

    Book Club: Atonement

    Authors: ?

    Book Bag: ?

  2. July 29, 2011 8:04 am

    Er, “George”

  3. July 29, 2011 8:20 am

    Children’s: Curious George

    Classics: My Antonia (one of my favorites!)

    Non-Fiction: Sarah, Duchess of York, aka Fergie

    Book Club: Atonement

    Authors: Sweden

    Book Bag: ????????

    Hey, five out of six. Not bad!

  4. freshhell permalink
    July 29, 2011 8:50 am

    Curious George, My Antonia, Sweden.

  5. July 29, 2011 10:32 am

    Childrens: Curious George
    Non-Fiction: Fergie

    Not sure about the rest! 🙂

  6. Karen D permalink
    July 29, 2011 11:18 am

    Glad that you’re back!

    George the Curious
    ?
    Sarah Ferguson
    Atonement
    Belgium?
    ?

  7. July 29, 2011 2:30 pm

    Children’s: Curious George

    Classics: My Antonia

    Nonficiton: I’m guessing Fergie

    Book Club: Atonement

    Welcome back!

    • August 1, 2011 9:12 am

      Thank you! I loved your photo of the ship in a bottle at Trafalgar Square, since I just saw it there!

  8. July 29, 2011 3:46 pm

    I got all of these except the Gift of Jazzy, so I looked it up. Cindy Adams? Who is that?

  9. July 31, 2011 7:16 pm

    I’m late to the game, but I did know the nonfiction question. I swear I did!

    • August 1, 2011 9:09 am

      That’s why I never give the answers until the weekend is over, so you can preen yourself on knowing an answer even if other people beat you to it!

  10. August 1, 2011 9:08 am

    Children’s: Curious George
    Classics: My Antonia
    Non-Fiction: Sarah Ferguson
    Book Club: Atonement
    Authors: Sweden
    Book Bag: Cindy Adams

Leave a Reply

