Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

August 19, 2011

Children’s: What bashful redhead befriends Betsy Ray, in Maud Hart Lovelace’s beloved series?

Classics: What tale of romantic obsession did Djuna Barnes write while splitting up with her lover Thelma Wood?

Non-Fiction: What name do radio’s Tom and Ray Magliozzi go by, in books like A Haircut in Horse Town?

Book Club: What debut novel by Lisa Tucker has young Mary Beth Norris predict people’s futures by tunes they can’t seem to get out of their heads?

Authors: Who created the ad slogan “I’m a Toys ‘R’ Us Kid” before going on to write thrillers like Hide & Seek?

Book Bag: What author follows politician Kerry Kilcannon from U.S. senator to president in No Safe Place, Protect and Defend and Balance of Power?

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2011 8:23 am

    Children’s: Tacy! It is one of the great tragedies of having a son and no daughters is that I have no one to read the Betsy Tacy books with. They were my favorites for years.

    Classics: ? I haven’t read any Barnes. The only one I can think of is Ryder, which is on my to read list.

    Non-Fiction: Click and Clack the Tappet brothers

    Book Club: I don’t know, but I love the concept.

    Authors: ?

    Book Bag: ?

    Wow, tough one this week.

  2. PAJ permalink
    August 19, 2011 12:13 pm

    I have to answer the non-fiction question: The Tappet Brothers, Click and Clack. They brighten my Saturdays and have been doing so for the better part of 20 years.

  3. August 19, 2011 2:49 pm

    Tacy Kelly! Once again, I only know the children’s book question. I’m so bad at this.

  4. August 19, 2011 4:47 pm

    Tacy!

    Is Classics Nightwood? I’ve read it, but don’t remember it.

    Click and Clack the Tappet brothers

    No idea.

    Who? I’m curious.

    No idea.

  5. August 19, 2011 5:06 pm

    Book Club: The Song Reader

    Authors: It’s got to be James Petterson

  6. August 19, 2011 8:11 pm

    Oh, I dind’t know Tacy was a redhead! Now I HAVE to read at least one of these books!

    • August 22, 2011 8:21 am

      They are not books I knew as a child, and when I read one as an adult, I did not fall in love with it, as I did with other authors like Arthur Ransome.

  7. August 20, 2011 11:05 am

    I only know three:

    Children’s — Tacy

    Non-Fiction — Click and Clack, the Tappet Brothers

    Authors — not James Patterson!!! (and now I can’t get that stupid theme out of my head).

  8. August 22, 2011 8:22 am

    Children’s: Tacy
    Classics: Nightwood
    Non-Fiction: Click and Clack
    Book Club: The Song Reader
    Authors: James Patterson
    Book Bag: Richard North Patterson

Leave a Reply

