Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

September 9, 2011

Children’s: What Ursual K. LeGuin tale tells of Mrs. Jane Tabby and her four flying kittens?

Classics: What Tennesse Williams drama finds a defrocked priest fed up with leading busloads of U.S. tourists through Mexico?

Non-Fiction: What John Irving novel occupies the bulk of his memoir My Movie Business?

Book Club: What Tom Robbins saga concerns a janitor’s quest for an old blue bottle that may contain the “secret essence of the universe”?

Authors: What Tennessee city spawned novelists James Agee and Cormac McCarthy?

Book Bag: What late author’s mystery Poodle Springs, unfinished since 1959, did Robert B. Parker finish off in 1991?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    September 9, 2011 9:09 am

    Childrens: Catwings
    Non-Fiction: Garp?
    Book Bag: Raymond Chandler

  2. September 9, 2011 9:32 am

    Non-fiction: A Prayer for Owen Meany.

  3. September 9, 2011 9:33 am

    I just noticed American Gods on your list of books in which necromancy never pays. But [SPOILER] it pays at the end, doesn’t it?

    • September 9, 2011 9:54 am

      I maintain that it doesn’t. Perhaps I should present my argument for this.
      There’s always a price, and it seems to me that whether necromancy pays enough is a bit like other questions about weighing returns, such as whether it’s worth it to work part-time when you’re paying for daycare.

  4. September 9, 2011 12:26 pm

    Classics: The Night of the Iguana

    I have got to read some Ursual K. LeGuin.

  5. September 9, 2011 1:40 pm

    Strangely, these are all the sorts of things that I just don’t know. I don’t like Tom Robbins, or Ursula LeGuin, or Tennessee Williams, really. I liked The World According to Garp, but that was really enough John Irving for me. I used to like Raymond Chandler, but not enough to know the answer. Hmm. Interesting.

    • September 12, 2011 8:15 am

      Hmm. Now I wonder how well I know you. Not liking LeGuin or Tennessee Williams? Perhaps it’s the northern upbringing.

  6. September 10, 2011 10:22 am

    Epic Fail! I only know two:

    Children’s — Catwings

    Book Club — could it be Jitterbug Perfume? It’s been years since I read him, but I really liked that one.

    Otherwise I am at a complete and total loss.

  7. freshhell permalink
    September 10, 2011 11:36 am

    Night of the Iguana – I should have known that. I’ve seen the play more than once. Memory Fail.

  8. September 11, 2011 7:55 pm

    I’m late to the party this week, but I didn’t know any of them anyway.

    • September 12, 2011 8:13 am

      You need to read Catwings posthaste. Also, The Cider House Rules is my favorite John Irving.

  9. September 12, 2011 8:13 am

    Children’s: Catwings
    Classics: The Night of the Iguana
    Non-Fiction: The Cider House Rules
    Book Club: Jitterbug Perfume
    Authors: Knoxville
    Book Bag: Raymond Chandler

Leave a Reply

