Skip to content

Book Blogger Interview

September 13, 2011

In honor of Book Blogger Appreciation Week, I visited a blog that focuses on mysteries, thrillers and suspense novels called Tea Time with Marce and interviewed Marce.  (She interviewed me, too, and you can see my interview over there today.)

Marce is the only other person I’ve ever met besides my daughter who likes verse novels.  They’ve been a minor trend in the Young Adult section for the past few years; my daughter’s favorite was Sonya Sones’ What My Mother Doesn’t Know and mine was Out of the Dust, by Karen Hesse.  These verse novels are usually comprised of short, free verse poems that, together, tell a story.

Here’s what I asked Marce about the kind of books she likes to read, and what she said:

What has contributed most to your love for verse novels? Which one would you recommend to someone who has never read one before?
I consider Verse Novels to be my simple pleasure. I have always loved quotes, simple messages that speak volumes in less words and I find that is what Verse Novels are. Lisa Schroeder by far is my favorite Verse Novel author. I have read a few other authors but Lisa has a unique style that really captures emotion and makes it her own. My favorite of hers is I heart you, I haunt you.

If you could choose any character from YA books to visit for a day, who would you want to visit and what would you do with him or her?
This usually would be so hard for me to answer as YA are not my go to genre books but John Cleaver in Dan Wells YA Horror trilogy is. I am in love with his mind. I would take him to dinner and discuss becoming his very own Profiler. I would try to understand how his mind works and help him catch the real demonic serial killers. What crazy dangerous fun that would be, lol.

What books have made you react as Holden Caulfield does to reading a really good book? (“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it.”) What would you say on the phone? OMG The Manufactured Identity by Heath Sommer. I was so completely wow’d by this book. This psychological thriller was complex and when I was done I wanted to reread it immediately knowing the ending from the beginning. I am one of Heath’s top fans. On the phone I would say “Stop messing with my head.”

What book has most affected you or changed your life the most, and why?
Still Alice by Lisa Genova. My father has Alzheimer’s and when I read about Alice, my heart went out to her but it helped me understand how to better deal with my father. He held a prominent position in the community and this was so hard for him to accept. Having the patience and protecting my father is more important to me now than just being a loving daughter. It is amazing how a Fiction book can have that much of a lasting effect on anyone. I highly recommend Still Alice. My father lives in an Alzheimer’s unit full time now and still remembers me one on one but family get together’s are far too overwhelming for him, with my siblings, grandkids and my mom.

Name one or two skills you have that aren’t on your resume, but in a perfect world would be.
What a thought provoking question, you have me stumped. I have been in the Human Resource field for 11 years. Maybe it would be Networking with Bloggers and Book Authors and writing book reviews.

Well, there you have it, book bloggers–straight from a Human Resources expert–it’s a kind of secret identity.  But unlike necromancy, it does pay–not in money, perhaps, but certainly in the satisfaction of finding other people to talk to about books.

27 Comments leave one →
  1. Catriona Galloway Keller permalink
    September 13, 2011 8:11 am

    The Beauty of the Husband by Anne Carson. Not what I would consider a Young Adult novel (and perhaps this doesn’t actually fit the genre, since I’m not familiar with these selections), but a very haunting story of a marriage (bad, of course) told in verse. I thought it was stunning. and devastating. And now I’m curious about the above. Thanks for sharing.

    • September 13, 2011 10:07 pm

      Hmm. Stunning sounds good, but devastating? And a bad marriage? I’m a little superstitious about not reading about those. Maybe on a sunny day in June.

  2. September 13, 2011 8:19 am

    Thanks again for interviewing me Jeanne. I think Verse Novels are amazing for those that want to try something but are not fans of books and the teens that haven’t found the love of reading also.

    I definitely will add The Beauty of the Husband to my Wishlist, always looking for Verse Novels especially adult ones. Ellen Hopkins has an adult one coming out this month called Triangles.

    See you later.

    • September 13, 2011 10:08 pm

      Interesting that you think they could be a way into reading for those who don’t respond to conventional fiction. I’ll remember that for reluctant readers.

  3. September 13, 2011 8:51 am

    I commented elsewhere, but to move it over here, I very much enjoyed Vikram Seth’s verse novel, The Golden Gate. I read it many years ago and don’t remember it so well now, but I remember thinking that it was a very self-conscious thing to do and I didn’t expect to like it, but I quickly became wrapped up in the story and stopped thinking about the form, which was less of a distraction than you would think. I am generally skeptical of works with challenging forms because they often read like intellectual exercises, but I didn’t think this one did.

    • September 13, 2011 10:10 pm

      I liked reading C.S. Lewis’ narrative poems in much the same way–forgot about the form and got wrapped up in the action.

  4. September 13, 2011 10:16 am

    Nice interview! I came over because Marce interviewed you, and here is Marce again 🙂 She is everywhere!!! Joking, but I understand Marce’s mission to get people who read the genre of mystery-suspense-thriller-horror to meet up and let our measly voice be heard, hehe. I am now following your blog and just wanted to say “hi”! Rae, Best O’ Books

    • September 13, 2011 10:11 pm

      Hi Rae! Are you going to read The Gone-Away World now? I just had someone tell me that it took her a couple of years to get around to reading it, but she loved it.

  5. September 13, 2011 1:30 pm

    Great inteview. I really liked that last question! I’ve read a couple of verse novels and enjoyed them.

    • September 13, 2011 10:12 pm

      The last question was borrowed (with permission) from a Facebook status of an imaginary friend of mine who is good at thinking up interview questions.

      • September 13, 2011 10:13 pm

        oh, definition of “imaginary friend” is someone I know only through the internet

  6. September 13, 2011 1:37 pm

    Great interview! I really enjoyed learning more about Marce. I’ve read only 1 verse novel, T4, and I really liked it.

  7. September 13, 2011 2:14 pm

    I’m not a big Holden Caulfield fan, but I love that particular quote and I love that you incorporated it here!

    • September 13, 2011 10:14 pm

      Erin, glad you like it. It’s really the best part of The Catcher in the Rye, as far as I’m concerned. Ironic, isn’t it?

  8. freshhell permalink
    September 13, 2011 2:33 pm

    I am not a fan of verse novels. I tried one once (I can’t even remember what it was) and just couldn’t read it. I’m sure that doesn’t surprise you at all. 🙂

    • September 13, 2011 10:15 pm

      You don’t have to like everything I like. (We have more than enough of the same tastes; a few differences are kind of reassuring, in fact.)

  9. September 13, 2011 4:23 pm

    I enjoyed discussing Verse Novels and seeing the reaction from others.

  10. September 13, 2011 6:04 pm

    What a great interview…I’m always looking for other verse novels to try out. Now I know who to bug for recommendations.

  11. September 13, 2011 8:41 pm

    Does “Paradise Lost” count?

    • September 13, 2011 10:17 pm

      Certainly. Especially if you’ve ever had to read it for a class, oh former pupil!

  12. shelleyrae@ Book'd Out permalink
    September 13, 2011 8:44 pm

    A great interview – Marce might also enjoy Turn of Mind that has a similar premise as Still Alice

    Shelleyrae @ book’d Out

    • September 13, 2011 10:18 pm

      Another one for the list of new books to find!

  13. September 13, 2011 9:34 pm

    Turn of Mind is on my Wishlist thank you.

    Thank you Jeanne, hope to see you during your Trivia meme some day.

    Enjoy the rest of BBAW

    • September 13, 2011 10:19 pm

      Marce, it would be fun to see you again for the trivial pursuit game. Most of us are lucky if we know one or two of them each week!

Leave a Reply

