Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

October 7, 2011

Children’s: Whose self-penned “Unauthorized Biography” features a reversible cover to hide its “extremely dangerous” contents?

Classics: What F. Scott Fitzgerald debut novel was a rework of a rejected book titled The Romantic Egotist?

Non-Fiction: What civil rights leader is the focus of biographies titled Bearing the Cross and Parting the Waters?

Book Club: What Tim O’Brien novel follows a Vietnam platoon tracking a private who went AWOL to drop in on the Paris peace talks?

Authors: What author died before finishing Priestess of Avalon, a third prequel to her mythic bestseller, entrusting its completion to Diana Paxson?

Book Bag: What conservative commentator penned three novels about CIA agent Blackford Oakes?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 8:53 am

    Children’s: Lemony Snicket

    I don’t know any of the others, as usual. Especially not the Fitzgerald–the only book of his I’ve read is the Great Gatsby in high school, and I was not a fan.

    • October 10, 2011 7:01 am

      I don’t know what they do to Gatsby in the high school here, but it’s evidently bad, because it’s a great book and none of the local high school kids end up liking it.

  2. October 7, 2011 9:22 am

    Children’s: Lemony Snicket

    Classics: This Side of Paradise

    Authors: Marion Zimmer Bradley

    • October 10, 2011 7:00 am

      I count getting half as pretty good in this game.

  3. Karen D permalink
    October 7, 2011 9:28 am

    Classics: This title sounded as if it ought to be The Great Gatsby, but that wasn’t a debut novel, as far as I remember…

    Non-Fiction: MLK, Jr.

    Authors: Marion Zimmer Bradley

  4. October 7, 2011 2:10 pm

    Book Club: The things they carried.

    • October 10, 2011 6:59 am

      A similar kind of book, from what I’ve read. I actually read the short story it was based on, at the urging of another blogger this year.

  5. October 7, 2011 8:10 pm

    Children’s: Lemony Snicket

    Classics: This Side of Paradise

    Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley

    That’s not so bad! Three!

  6. October 7, 2011 9:41 pm

    Children’s: Lemony Snicket. Fun fact #1: I once met Daniel Handler when he was in college. He was the roommate of my brother’s friend.

    Classics: This Side of Paradise. Fun fact #2: My favorite Fitzgerald novel.

    Non-Fiction: Martin Luther King. Fun fact #3: Parting the Waters was one of the books that made me want to be an historian (the other is a British history book for children, Looking at History by R.J. Unstead).

    Book Club: ? Fun fact #4: I have never read a book about the Viet Nam war.

    Authors: Marion Zimmer Bradley. Fun fact #5: my copy of Mists of Avalon is stained with tea and cough syrup, because I first discovered this book when I had pneumonia. The book led me to research assorted female-cenric religions and led me to Robert Graves’ The White Goddess, another favorite.

    Book Bag: William F. Buckley, Jr. No fun facts about him.

    • October 10, 2011 6:58 am

      You know the most interesting people! I have to ask if you’ve never read a book about the Viet Nam war on purpose. It would be hard to have achieved that entirely by accident, although it could be like me not reading Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar until after I got a PhD in English, sort of a life goal.

  7. October 10, 2011 6:56 am

    Children’s: Lemony Snicket
    Classics: This Side of Paradise
    Non-Fiction: Martin Luther King Jr.
    Book Club: Going After Cacciato
    Authors: Marion Zimmer Bradley
    Book Bag: William F. Buckley Jr.

Leave a Reply

