Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

October 21, 2011

Children’s: What Nancy Farmer novel tells of three kidnapped siblings and the three hypersensitive mutant detectives sent to find them?

Classics: What debut novel by Dodie Smith begins “I write this sitting in the kitchen sink”?

Non-Fiction: Who collected her Pulitzer-winning New York Times “Public and Private” columns for a volume called Thinking Out Loud?

Book Club: What Jonathan Lethem novel features two Brooklyn kids who aspire to become superheroes?

Authors: What author of The Black Dahlia said he wants to “destroy every last bit of niceness and cheap empathy in the American crime novel”?

Book Bag: What descendant of the author of Framley Parsonage pens romances like The Rector’s Wife?

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 6:46 am

    Children’s: ?
    Classics: I Capture the Castle
    Non-Fiction: Anna Quindlen
    Book Club: Fortress of Solitude. One of my favorite books.
    Authors: ? I feel like I should know this one, but the only name coming to mind is Elmore Leonard, which I KNOW is wrong
    Book Bag: Joanna Trollope

  2. October 21, 2011 9:42 am

    Children’s : The Eye, The Ear, and The Arm (or something like that)
    Classics: I Capture the Castle
    Authors: James Ellroy – did he really say that? I guess that’s why I hate noir
    Book Bag: Joanna Trollope

  3. October 21, 2011 10:24 am

    Classics: I Capture the Castle (love this book)

    Book Club: The Fortress of Solitude, this one was fascinating.

    Authors: James Ellroy

  4. October 22, 2011 3:44 pm

    I capture the castle! And Joanna Trollope.

  5. October 23, 2011 9:14 pm

    Children’s: The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm (wow I couldn’t get on with that book at all)
    Classics: I Capture the Castle (and loving to see it called a classic!)
    Book Club: Fortress of Solitude? Is that a book?

  6. October 24, 2011 8:22 am

    Children’s: The Ear, the Eye, and the Arm
    Classics: I Capture the Castle
    Non-Fiction: Anna Quindlen
    Book Club: The Fortress of Solitude
    Authors: James Ellroy
    Book Bag: Joanna Trollope

Leave a Reply

