Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

October 28, 2011

Children’s: What playwright teamed with Maurice Sendak to create a picture book from Brundibar, an opera written in a Nazi concentration camp?

Classics: What Agatha Christie novel was initially published as Murder in the Calais Coach?

Non-Fiction: What MIT linguist detailed efforts by big business and government leaders to shape public opinion, in Manufacturing Consent?

Book Club: What 1994 Joseph Heller novel catches up with the now-septuagenarian characters of Catch-22?

Authors: What Irish-American author ditched his first name Charles for that of the king who built Blarney Castle?

Book Bag: What hard-boiled L.A. detective did Walter Mosley introduce in Devil in a Blue Dress?

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 8:21 am

    These are tough ones..lol my guess for the Agatha Christie (Murder in the Calais Coach) is Murder on the Orient Express, but I could totally be wrong since I don’t read Christie…lol

  2. Karen permalink
    October 28, 2011 8:27 am

    Children’s: don’t know, despite having just looked through a Maurice Sendak exhibit at the library last month
    Classics: Murder on the Orient Express
    NF: Steven Pinker
    BC: Being Good? No, I know that’s not it. It’s just the only other book of Heller’s that I know. Totally different characters, though…
    The others I don’t know without the help of Google.

  3. Karen permalink
    October 28, 2011 8:29 am

    And of course it’s the other famous MIT linguist, not Steven Pinker. But I didn’t get that one right without Google’s help, either!

  4. October 28, 2011 8:46 am

    Children’s: Tony Kushner

    Classics: Murder on the Orient Express

    Non-Fiction: Noam Chomsky

    Book Club: ? I didn’t know there was a sequel.

    Authors: Cormac McCarthy

    Book Bag: ?

  5. October 28, 2011 11:31 am

    Classics: Murder on the Orient Express

    Book Club: Closing Time (I’ve always meant to read this)

  6. October 28, 2011 1:21 pm

    Noam Chomsky.

    And, did you know that there’s a new biography of Heller by Heller’s daughter?

    • October 31, 2011 7:24 am

      I had no idea about the new biography. My father says I’ll want to read more biography when I get old; it hasn’t happened yet.

  7. October 28, 2011 2:22 pm

    I cannot wait to find out these answers…I am sadly out of the loop on these

  8. October 28, 2011 7:26 pm

    I only know Closing Time! Sigh. I bet Harriet DID know the opera one.

  9. October 30, 2011 7:46 pm

    Harold Kushner for #1? I can’t quite remember but I really should know that, since I read that book many times.

  10. October 31, 2011 7:23 am

    Children’s: Tony Kushner
    Classics: Murder on the Orient Express
    Non-Fiction: Noam Chomsky
    Book Club: Closing Time
    Authors: Cormac McCarthy
    Book Bag: Easy Rawlins

Leave a Reply

