Skip to content

Reclaim Your Reader

November 2, 2011

It happens to a lot of us…you start blogging and reading other peoples’ blogs during some sort of lull in your regularly scheduled life, and pretty soon the fame and fortune begin rolling in, your paying job goes full time, and you don’t have as much time for blogging or reading as you used to.

The Bumbles Blog came up with an answer, and they call it “Reclaim Your Reader.”  The idea is that you write for your own blog as usual one week (Nov.7-11), and then spend the time you would usually spend writing on reading other peoples’ blogs the next week (Nov. 14-18).  I’m giving it a try by posting only two pre-scheduled pieces during the reading week, my long-promised review of Cold Comfort Farm on the 15th, and the Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers on Friday, as usual.  Otherwise, I’ll spend that week reading.

Want to join?  All you have to do is sing it the next time it comes around on the guitar.  It might be nice if this became a regular thing, maybe once a month or so, because good writing feeds on reading, and everybody benefits when we talk to ourselves less.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2011 1:50 pm

    Oh, that’s a nice idea! Reading and writing and commenting can become so exhausting!

    • November 3, 2011 8:35 am

      Yes. I like this the same way I like the “unplugged” post–sometimes it’s good to give yourself permission to stop producing so you can absorb more material for a while.

  2. November 2, 2011 2:18 pm

    Maybe when I’m back among the employed. Because right now every day is Saturday and every night is Friday night so I just keep reading and scribbling and reading and scribbling. Oh and sewing too.

    • November 3, 2011 8:35 am

      the fame and fortune will come your way eventually. Oh, and all those imaginary internet dollars!

  3. November 2, 2011 2:22 pm

    I usually find time to do both and I’m not good about following rules. We’ll see.

    • November 3, 2011 8:36 am

      they’re more like guidelines, at least as I interpret them!

  4. November 2, 2011 2:26 pm

    Reading and writing are not so separable for me these days. And I’m okay with that. Although I do appreciate a good Alice’s Restaurant reference.

    • November 3, 2011 8:37 am

      That is a good place to be–when reading and writing feed on each other. I need periods of reading, periodically. And I don’t usually join movements, except the mostly spontaneous kind.

  5. November 2, 2011 2:26 pm

    Also – if nobody’s writing, what will there be to read that week?

    • November 2, 2011 2:57 pm

      We’re not actually expecting 50 people a day! I think there will be plenty to read. Bloggers are not easily herded, as you have already noted.

  6. November 2, 2011 3:30 pm

    What a great idea! Which completely conflicts with NaBloPoMo, another great idea. Parallel universe Novembers, anyone?

  7. November 2, 2011 6:52 pm

    Perhaps we should organize a December happening. Or January. Whatever. Some of us don’t do that vowel-intensive November writing exercise, so I think there could be enough people to stagger this a bit.

  8. November 4, 2011 9:10 pm

    I actually did it backwards. I took a week off from blogging to catch up on my book reviews and skipped commenting for a full week so I could come back refreshed and not panic about getting posts done while also visiting blogs. Either way, it is hard to keep up on both all the time.

  9. November 5, 2011 11:03 am

    Whatever works!

  10. November 7, 2011 9:15 pm

    Thanks for embracing the idea and spirit of the idea. Enjoy your time visiting and reading some old favorites and discovering some new ones as well!

    • November 16, 2011 9:34 am

      Thanks for thinking this up. As it happened, it coincided with a week I really needed to read and be quiet.

  11. November 15, 2011 9:31 am

    As hopefully I’ll have written a lot of the rest of the years content by the end of Nov what with catching up on review writing now (my own Nano) maybe I could do a whole two weeks in Dec where I don’t need to write new content…

  12. November 16, 2011 9:34 am

    I don’t see why not. You don’t have to be a good rule follower; just take the idea and run with it!

Leave a Reply

