Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

November 11, 2011

Children’s: What classic begins with a young girl wondering “What is the use of a book without pictures or conversation”?

Classics: What Daniel Defoe title character was based on real-life sailor Alexander Selkirk?

Non-Fiction: What sport is linked to every significant event of Nick Hornby’s life in his first book Fever Pitch?

Book Club: What Scott Spencer tale relates the disastrous consequences of David Axelrod’s all-consuming passion for Jade Butterfield?

Authors: Who drew upon his real-life experience as a hobo, gold prospector, seal-hunter, and oyster pirate for his popular fiction, until his suicide in 1916?

Book Bag: What magazine sends the fictional Robert Kincaid to photograph bridges in Madison County?

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    November 11, 2011 7:12 am

    Non-fiction: Non-American football, aka soccer

  2. freshhell permalink
    November 11, 2011 8:48 am

    Children’s: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

  3. November 11, 2011 5:06 pm

    Alice in Wonderland, Robinson Crusoe, Soccer (or Football, if you’re not American) . . . Bridges of Madison County, I presume.

  4. November 11, 2011 5:57 pm

    Children’s:Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

    Classics: Robinson Crusoe

    Non-Fiction: Soccer

    Book Club: Endless Love. Great. Now I’ve got the song stuck in my head.

    Authors: Jack London

    Book Bag: Bridges of Madison County. Is this a trick question?

  5. November 11, 2011 6:18 pm

    Classics: Robinson Crusoe

    Non-Fiction: Football (the UK kind)

    Book Bag: National Geographic

  6. November 12, 2011 8:44 am

    Classics: Robinson Crusoe
    Non-Fiction: Soccer aka Football for most of the world
    Book Bag: National Geographic

    So embarrassing that I know the one about Brides of Madison County but not Alice in Wonderland. I am hanging my head in shame.

  7. November 13, 2011 4:32 pm

    I got 5 out of 6! This is a record for me!

  8. November 13, 2011 7:39 pm

    Robinson Crusoe! I did my senior English paper looking at the narrative impact of Crusoe’s journal, so I have a special place in my heart for the book 🙂

  9. November 13, 2011 11:16 pm

    Ah, it is a trick question. And the trick is READING the question! Oops. I didn’t know that one.

    • November 14, 2011 7:44 pm

      This reminds me of those tests that begin with directions that say you don’t actually have to do the test…

  10. November 14, 2011 7:47 pm

    Children’s: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
    Classics: Robinson Crusoe
    Non-Fiction: Soccer
    Book Club: Endless Love
    Authors: Jack London
    Book Bag: National Geographic

  11. November 16, 2011 9:44 pm

    I got rid of my copy of this game, after being shamed by not knowing so many of the answers. Embarrassing! But– I like it as a blog post, much more fun! Maybe I should try and find another copy…

Leave a Reply

