Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

December 9, 2011

Children’s: What ageless “author” is credited with writing more than 150 Hardy Boys mysteries since 1910?

Classics: What Jerome K. Jerome novel describes the narrator’s voyage up the Thames with two ne’er-do’well companions and a dog?

Non-Fiction: What retired hoopster explained why he was a Republican, in I May Be Wrong but I Doubt It?

Book Club: What fictional pharmaceutical in The Corrections did Jonathan Franzen name for a supernatural lion in The Narnia Chronicles?

Authors: What former D.C. shoe salesman penned the crime-noir novel Shoedog?

Book Bag: What Elizabeth Buchan novel finds a 47-year-old woman upset at losing her husband and job to a young thing named Minty?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2011 7:33 am

    Oh, I’m early and I think I know one! I think the answer to authors is George Pelecanos!

  2. Ron permalink
    December 9, 2011 8:10 am

    I know the Children’s: Franklin W. Dixon
    I know the Classics: Three Men in a Boat (To Say Nothing of the Dog)

    It seems these are the only categories I know on a regular basis.

  3. Karen permalink
    December 9, 2011 8:32 am

    F W Dixon
    Three Men in a Boat
    ?
    Aslan? It’s probably more like Aslantia or something…
    ?
    ?

  4. December 9, 2011 8:35 am

    Children’s: Frank Dixon

    Classics: Three Men in a Boat. I love this book. I discovered it very early — it was part of a Time-Life paperback series my parents owned.

    Non-Fiction: Charles Barkeley (not sure I remember how he spells his name)

    Book Club: Aslan? I don’t remember that detail.

    Authors: ?

    Book Bag: ?

  5. December 9, 2011 8:44 am

    Book Club: Aslan, that’s all I’ve got today.

  6. freshhell permalink
    December 9, 2011 9:51 am

    Three Men in a Boat – my dad’s a huge Jerome fan and made sure I was too.

    I

  7. December 9, 2011 12:42 pm

    I think it’s amazing that everyone knows the Three Men in a Boat question, which is the only one I knew although I guessed Aslan but also do not remember that detail. And I could have dredged the hardy boys one out of the back closet of my memory, underneath the vacuum cleaner and the disused tennis racket. the Monty one sounds kind of familiar, too, but I can’t say I know it.

  8. December 12, 2011 11:09 am

    Children’s: Franklin W. Dixon
    Classics: Three Men in a Boat
    Non-Fiction: Charles Barkley
    Book Club: Aslan
    Authors: George Pelecanos
    Book Bag: Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman

Leave a Reply

