Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

December 16, 2011

Children’s: What novice Keeper is hailed as Gryffindor’s “king” after winning the Quidditch Cup?

Classics: What fearless Prince of the Geats gets munched by a dragon?

Non-Fiction: What 72-year-old feminist rallied for the rights of the elderly in The Fountain of Age, in 1993?

Book Club: What novel by Peter Carey finds an imaginary poet created by Christopher Chubb coming back to haunt him?

Authors: What bit actor ran the Playhouse-on-the-Mall in Paramus, New Jersey before penning, at age 40, the first of his twenty-plus-best-selling-thrillers?

Book Bag: What Dan Brown thriller pries into the secrets of the Priory of Sion?

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 7:45 am

    Children’s: Ron Weasley

    Classics: Beowulf

    Non-Fiction: Betty Friedan

    Book Club: ? But I think I need to know of a book where someone is haunted by a poet.

    Authors: ?

    Book Bag: Da Vinci Code

  2. December 16, 2011 7:45 am

    1. Harry Potter?
    2. *crickets*
    3. Betty Friedan (not sure how to spell her name,oops)
    4. don’t know (But I think I have read a book by Peter Carey.)
    5. no idea about the NJ playhouse guy
    6. DaVinci Code

  3. December 16, 2011 8:05 am

    I think I actually know some of these! Woohoo!

    What novice Keeper is hailed as Gryffindor’s “king” after winning the Quidditch Cup? Ron Wesley

    What fearless Prince of the Geats gets munched by a dragon? Beowulf

    What 72-year-old feminist rallied for the rights of the elderly in The Fountain of Age, in 1993? Betty Friedan

    What novel by Peter Carey finds an imaginary poet created by Christopher Chubb coming back to haunt him? My Life as a Fake

    What bit actor ran the Playhouse-on-the-Mall in Paramus, New Jersey before penning, at age 40, the first of his twenty-plus-best-selling-thrillers? I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA!

    What Dan Brown thriller pries into the secrets of the Priory of Sion? Da Vinci Code

  4. Karen permalink
    December 16, 2011 8:25 am

    I only knew Ron Weasley and the Da Vinci code.

    You know, it doesn’t seem fair to give us all the hard questions when the cards come up that way, and then to make difficult even the easy questions when the cards come up THAT way!

    For this time of year…how professorial of you.

    • December 19, 2011 7:00 am

      Since only one person was guessing wrong on the third one I shortened (The Da Vinci Code), I don’t think it made the questions TOO hard!

  5. December 16, 2011 10:52 am

    Children’s: Ron Weasley

    Book Bag: Da Vinci Code

    I’m embarrassed I didn’t get Beowulf for the classics category.

  6. December 16, 2011 3:21 pm

    Ron Weasley!

  7. December 17, 2011 11:13 am

    …I thought the Dan Brown novel was Angels and Demons. Wasn’t the DaVinci Code Opus Dei? And Ron Weasley…and Betty Friedan. So I knew one more than usual, which is not great. At least, I think I know these three.

    • December 19, 2011 7:01 am

      Opus Dei was Angels and Demons, which was an earlier book than The Da Vinci Code.

  8. December 18, 2011 8:11 am

    I’m only certain of the first one which is of course Ron Weasley from the Harry Potter series. I haven’t read anything by Peter Carey and for the rest. . . . well, I guess it’s not too embarrassing to say Da Vinci Code but Dan Brown wrote several books so it might be any of them. I tried reading the most recent one but it was so awful I stopped after about 70 pages.

  9. December 19, 2011 7:03 am

    Children’s: Ron Weasley
    Classics: Beowulf
    Non-Fiction: Betty Friedan
    Book Club: My Life as a Fake
    Authors: Robert Ludlum
    Book Bag: The Da Vinci Code

    The full text of the children’s question includes the information that he wins the cup in Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Full Text of the Classics includes that it is “in an Old English poem.” And full text of the Book Bag includes “after a murder at the Louvre.”

  10. December 19, 2011 8:28 am

    Ah, Robert Ludlum….bummer…I didn’t know that.

Leave a Reply

