Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

January 13, 2012

Children’s: What appropriately named pooch defeats a pair of burglars to earn a place in the Tosis family, in Dav Pilkey’s Dog Breath?

Classics: What two Joseph Conrad books are narrated by a ship’s captain named Marlow?

Non-Fiction: What fitness guru resurfaced after a decade of obscurity with a 2002 tome titled The Politics of Stupid?

Book Club: What blue-eyed Cro-Magnon has a major hankerin’ for Ayla, in Jean Auel novels?

Authors: What Wyoming-born author of Cassie Binegar and Mama One, Mama Two carries around a bag of prairie dirt as a reminder of her upbringing?

Book Bag: What Native American tribe’s police force does Tony Hillerman’s Lt. Joe Leaphorn toil for?

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen permalink
    January 13, 2012 7:22 am

    The only Joseph Conrad books I can think of off the top of my head are Heart of Darkness and Lord Jim.

    Unfortunately, the only question I can answer with confidence this time is the Book Club one: Jondalar. I haven’t read those books in….10 years? Maybe? I wonder how many more have been published in the series since I read the first few.

  2. January 13, 2012 8:07 am

    Classics: What two Joseph Conrad books are narrated by a ship’s captain named Marlow?

    Heart of Darkness for sure, but I don’t think that counts since its a novella and not a novel….Lord Jim and I think maybe the other is called Chance or Change…something like that.

    Non-Fiction: What fitness guru resurfaced after a decade of obscurity with a 2002 tome titled The Politics of Stupid?

    Powter…Susan i think was her name…

    That’s all I got this time…I could use Google,but won’t

  3. January 13, 2012 8:08 am

    Children’s: Hally
    Classics: I think Karen is right about Heart of Darkness and Lord Jim, but I’m pretty sure he narrates another one as well. Maybe they’re not counting Heart of Darkness as a full-fledged book? Or maybe I’m wrong. I can’t think of the name of the other one anyway.
    Non-fiction: ?
    Book Club: “hankerin’?” But I don’t know this one. Could never get through those books.
    Authors: ?
    Book Bag: Navajo. I think. Something in New Mexico..

  4. January 13, 2012 8:54 am

    Classics: Heart of Darkness is my only guess.

    Authors: I don’t know, but I’ll have to look up info on this one as a possibility for the Reading the States series.

  5. January 13, 2012 2:17 pm

    It is humiliating to note that the only answer I know for sure is Jondalar, from the worst and trashiest novel of all time. Although the answer to the children’s question HAS to be Hallie.

  6. January 15, 2012 3:03 pm

    Susan Powter!?! wow – Haven’t heard that name in a long time. (I know none of these.)

  7. January 16, 2012 9:56 am

    Children’s: Hally Tosis
    Classics: Heart of Darkness and Lord Jim
    Non-Fiction: Susan Powter
    Book Club: Jondalar
    Authors: Patricia MacLachlan
    Book Bag: the Navajo

Leave a Reply

