Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

February 10, 2012

Children’s: What do the singing pigs say in Sandra Boynton’s board book Moo, Baa, La La La?

Classics: What Robert Heinlein book begins: “Once upon a time there was a Martian named Valentine Michael Smith”?

Non-Fiction: What Eric Schlosser attack on burgers and fries was subtitled The Dark Side of the All-American Meal?

Book Club: What Paul Auster novel gets rolling when Daniel Quinn gets a third phone call for “Paul Auster the detective,” and decides to take the case anyway?

Authors: Who launched her “Vampire Chronicles” while grieving her daughter’s death from leukemia?

Book Bag: What character went “literally and figuratively underground” in 1929, only to be revived by the sound of the goth rockers Satan’s Night Out?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen D permalink
    February 10, 2012 7:49 am

    La La La
    Stranger in a Strange Land
    Fast Food Nation

  2. Matthew permalink
    February 10, 2012 7:52 am

    (Karen): No no, you say, that isn’t right–the pigs say oink all day and night!

  3. February 10, 2012 7:55 am

    Children’s: La La La

    Classics: ? I’ve never read any Heinlein. Should I?

    Non-Fiction: Fast Food Nation

    Book Club: The New York Trilogy

    Authors: Anne Rice

    I forget what this last category is called. Book Bag, maybe? I thought it was Vampire LeStat, but since Anne Rice was the answer to the last question, now I’m not so sure. In any case, those are the only vampire novels I’ve read besides Dracula.. I read them voraciously in the weeks between quitting my job in Boston and moving out to the Cape to play summer stock. Every morning I’d grab my book and pack a lunch and walk to Cambridge to sit by the river and read. It was lovely.

    • February 10, 2012 9:55 am

      Yes OF COURSE you should read Heinlein. Stranger in a Strange Land is a great one, but I’d start with The Door Into Summer and progress to The Moon is a Harsh Mistress before going on to that one.

      This card is peculiar in having the last two answers refer to the same set of books. I don’t remember when I read The Vampire Lestat, but I loved it. The ones before and after it, not so much, but that one was fascinating to my adolescent mind.

      And yes, sorry, it’s book bag. Sometimes I leave out the categories by mistake.

  4. February 10, 2012 11:18 am

    Classics: Stranger in a Strange Land (After reading The Moon is a Harsh Mistress I really need to check this one out)

    Authors: Anne Rice

  5. February 13, 2012 7:24 am

    Children’s: La, La La
    Classics: Stranger in a Strange Land
    Non-Fiction: Fast Food Nation
    Book Club: City of Glass
    Authors: Anne Rice
    Book Bag: Lestat

  6. February 13, 2012 10:01 am

    I totally missed last book trivia! ARGH and I knew most of these answers…darn it. There is always the new week.

Leave a Reply

