Skip to content

Smalltown Lift

February 23, 2012

 

Some days it’s harder than others to find things to like in a very small town. But I have friends all over who have ways of restoring my perspective, including the one who offered to bring a pie to match the stains on my dress, which gets funnier every time I think about it, partly because I am the kind of person who does get stained. My mother always shakes her head and says “Jeannie, dirt just falls on you.”  Last summer I was sitting across a picnic table from a friend who was eating a tomato, and got her tomato juice and seeds squirted all over the front of my white shirt.  Sometimes you get what you don’t deserve.  Like in this poem, “Smalltown Lift” by Brian Blanchfield:

One last stop, he says. And they drive to Westside Lanes.
I grew up bowling. I don’t want to bowl. It was raining.
We’re not going to bowl, the circus carpet dark with gum
Beneath them, and he parts the curtains on the best
Photo booth in town. He feeds it the three dollars, Get
In. They somehow share the short ridged stool. In here
We have to tell each other one true thing. You first. Click.
This is the best way I could think to have my arm around you.
Click. Click. Click.

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. freshhell permalink
    February 23, 2012 9:10 am

    🙂 Awesome.

    • February 24, 2012 7:27 am

      Isn’t it? I love the phrase “circus carpet.”

  2. February 23, 2012 9:12 am

    Love this poem. Seriously.

    • February 24, 2012 7:28 am

      And that is high praise from you! I think you’re liking more poems as I get you to read different kinds.

      • February 24, 2012 10:41 am

        Well I really did not like Bitch Tree at all. I got the concept, the idea, but the words and phrases were just too frou frou for me. But this one was a winner. Guess I like my poems more pared down?

        • February 24, 2012 5:38 pm

          Maybe. It could be that you like strong images. Some of the poems you don’t like as well are more abstract.

  3. February 23, 2012 10:49 am

    This poem rocks. I wish life had more moments like this.

    • February 24, 2012 7:30 am

      It has a lot of them, but we don’t always stop to notice. The “click” makes me think (among other things) of Clair’s photo-taking pose in Elizabethtown when she wants to capture a moment.

  4. February 23, 2012 6:23 pm

    I would love to have a friend who offered me a pie to go with my stains. I attract stains as well so I feel your pain!

    • February 24, 2012 7:32 am

      It doesn’t really pain me too much anymore except when it’s so outrageously gratuitous as getting someone else’s food an adult’s) on me!

Leave a Reply

