Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

February 24, 2012

Children’s:  What Emmy-winning actress paired with her husband James Keach to write a series of books starring twin kittens called This One and That One?

Classics: Which title character from a Thackeray epic fights on both sides during the Seven Years War?

Non-Fiction: What explorer’s Antarctic trek did Apsley Cherry-Garrand relive in The Worst Journey in the World?

Book Club: What Kazuo Ishiguro novel concerns Christopher Banks’ return to Shanghai, to uncover what happened to his parents when he was nine?

Authors: What creator of F.X. Enderby, told he’d die of an inoperable brain tumor by 1960, proceeded to churn out a novel every year until 1993?

Book Bag: What author populated her planet of Pern with telepathic, time-traveling dragons?

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 7:22 am

    I think the answer to Children’s is Jane Seymour. I’m so happy when I know one!

  2. February 24, 2012 7:26 am

    I never ever ever know the answer to any of your question. But I come back every week to see if perhaps this week I may have better luck 🙂

    • February 27, 2012 10:42 am

      It is a difficult game even for people who grew up reading everything in English!

  3. February 24, 2012 8:28 am

    Book Club: When We Were Orphans

    Authors: Anne McCaffrey

    I’m so glad I got here early this morning! I never looked at the comments until I have my answers, but once I do it seems like everyone has already answered the ones I know.

  4. February 24, 2012 10:03 am

    Children’s: Never heard of the books, but I think James Keach is married to Jane Seymour

    Classics: I’ve never read this one, but I know it from taking a class on Stanley Kubrick in college — Barry Lyndon

    Non-Fiction: I don’t know this one either, but I’m guessing it’s Shackleton.

    Book Club: This one I’ve read — and it’s one of my favorites. When We Were Orphans.

    Authors: Anthony Burgess

    Book Bag: Anne MacCaffrey

  5. freshhell permalink
    February 24, 2012 12:23 pm

    Sigh. What Iris said.

  6. February 24, 2012 3:15 pm

    Barry Lyndon! And I’m guessing Shackleton, too.

  7. Karen D permalink
    February 24, 2012 4:17 pm

    I only knew McCaffrey.

  8. February 24, 2012 8:19 pm

    I know Anthony Burgess and Anne McCaffrey, but that’s all.

  9. Karen D permalink
    February 25, 2012 3:12 pm

    I will venture a guess, though, to accompany my certainty about Pern’s creator. I think the failed polar expedition was Scott’s.

  10. February 27, 2012 10:43 am

    Children’s: Jane Seymour
    Classics: Barry Lyndon
    Non-Fiction: Robert Scott
    Book Club: When We Were Orphans
    Authors: Anthony Burgess
    Book Bag: Anne McCaffrey

Trackbacks

  1. Seuss and More

Leave a Reply

