Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

March 16, 2012

Children’s: What does the Really Ugly Duckling grow up to become, in Jon Scieszka’s reworked fairy tale?

Classics: What James Jones war novel tells of an army bugler’s fall from grace?

Non-Fiction: What wry newsman observed that “if we can put a man on the moon, we could put Congress in orbit,” in Everyone is Entitled to My Opinion?

Book Club: What novel by Jay McInerney features a wife with a “face that launched a thousand trips to Bloomingdale’s”?

Authors: What noted author of The Shell Seekers scribbled 10 romances under the pen name Jane Fraser?

Book Bag: What crime writer took pains to ensure her futuristic The Children of Men was not marketed as science fiction?

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen D permalink
    March 16, 2012 7:26 am

    Only the last one: PD James

  2. March 16, 2012 8:56 am

    Children’s: Hahahaha, a really ugly duck (I loved The Stinky Cheese Man)

  3. March 16, 2012 12:55 pm

    I never know these. Even though I’m a PD James fan. AND own the Stinky Cheese Man book. Sigh

    • March 19, 2012 10:56 am

      My favorite of the Scieszka books has always been Squids Will Be Squids, because that’s the phrase my housemate, who was a neonatal intensive care nurse, used to reassure me about holding my friends’ babies, before I had ever held any of my own.

  4. March 16, 2012 5:31 pm

    Children’s: A really ugly duck, of course!

    Classics: From Here to Eternity

    Non-Fiction:Brinkley

    Book Club: Bright LIghts Big City (it’s the only one I can think of!)

    Authors:Rosamund Pilcher

    Book Bag: ?

  5. March 16, 2012 7:51 pm

    I actually really like Rosamind Pilcher.

    But I’m like Freshhell — even when I know these I only know I know them, but not what the answer is.

  6. March 16, 2012 8:12 pm

    I’m assuming it grew into an ugly duck, but that’s a guess. PD James is the only one I legitimately know.

  7. March 19, 2012 10:54 am

    Children’s: A Really Ugly Duck
    Classics: From Here to Eternity
    Non-Fiction: David Brinkley
    Book Club: Bright Lights, Big City
    Authors: Rosamunde Pilcher
    Book Bag: P.D. James

Leave a Reply

