Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

April 20, 2012

Children’s: What Hans Christian Anderson character begins life on the stamens of a tulip?

Classics: What world traveler is accompanied on his journeys by faithful sidekick Passepartout?

Non-Fiction: What Gourmet editor crowns her culinarily inept mom “The Queen of Mold” in the memoir Tender at the Bone?

Book Club: What J.G. Ballard novel begins with a man trying to ram his car into Liz Taylor’s limo?

Authors: What Lewis Carroll creature is hunted by a Butcher, a Baker, a Bellman, a Boots, a Barrister, a Broker, a Billiard-maker, a Banker, and a Beaver?

Book Bag: What African-American maid-turned-sleuth did Barbara Neely send On the Lam and Among the Talented Tenth?

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2012 7:04 am

    Children’s: Thumbelina

    Classics: Phileas Fogg

    Non-Fiction:Ruth Reichl

    Book Club: Crash

    Authors: Snark

    Book Bag: ?

  2. Karen D permalink
    April 20, 2012 7:12 am

    The only one I know: Lewis Carroll’s characters hunted the snark. (I, however, have caught it. Anyone needing a supply of snark is welcome to contact me.)

  3. April 20, 2012 7:50 am

    Thumbelina came out of the flower, and I spent a few months in my extreme youth checking flowers for tiny people. Passepartout is Phileas Fogg’s buddy (don’t you always want to say Phineas? What kind of a nme is Phileas? Or Passepartout, for that matter – doesn’t that mean picture matting?) Ruth Somebody wrote the cooking memoir, and all those folks engaged in the Hunting of the Snark. I have not found the Snark, although I did once belong to the National Sarcasm Society (Motto: Like We Need Your Support.) However, I will answer to Hie, or to any loud cry.

    • April 23, 2012 7:34 am

      Yes, I do always want to say Phineas! And so do others, evidently (Karen K.) although hers could just be a typing thing and she’d say it differently.

  4. April 20, 2012 8:35 am

    Children’s: Thumbelina

    Classics: Fogg

    Happy Friday!

  5. April 20, 2012 8:45 am

    I knew classics today but someone beat me to it.

  6. April 20, 2012 11:56 am

    Children’s: Could it be Thumbelina? I’ve never read it, but I vaguely recall a book cover, so that’s my guess.

    Classics: Phineas Fogg! I’ve read Around the World in 80 Days, my only Verne so far.

    Non-fiction: Ruth Reichl. Read two of these.

    Authors: The only Lewis Carroll I know besides Alice’s books is The Hunting of the Snark.

    Four out of six, not too shabby.

  7. April 20, 2012 7:03 pm

    Ha! I count it a considerable victory that I knew TWO of these (although I am late as usual to the party).

  8. April 23, 2012 7:36 am

    Children’s: Thumbelina
    Classics: Phileas Fogg
    Non-Fiction: Ruth Reichl
    Book Club: Crash
    Authors: The Snark
    Book Bag: Blanche White

Leave a Reply

