Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

April 27, 2012

Children’s: What Jill Murphy picture book won’t let Mrs. Large take a bubble bath without interruption?

Classics: What did John Steinbeck, in a nod to Don Quixote, christen his custom cabin-on-wheels in Travels with Charley?

Non-Fiction: What synonym for “meridian” enabled Dava Sobel to sail onto bestseller lists in 1996?

Book Club: What Gabriel Garcia Marquez novel begins with Colonel Aureliano Buendia reminiscing as he faces a firing squad?

Authors: What author of The Coming Plague was the first writer to win a Peabody, a Pulitzer and a Polk?

Book Bag: What famed science writer didn’t live to see his son Nick publish the sci-fi thriller Idlewild, about an amnesiac teenager named Halloween?

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2012 8:57 am

    Yikes. Tough this week. I think I may have burned some gears in my brain trying to remember the Steinbeck. It’s been 20 years at least since I read it.

    Children’s: No idea

    Classics: Rocinante (Don Quixote’s horse)

    Non-Fiction: I read this one, but I couldn’t think of this one and had to look it up because it was driving me crazy. So I’ll keep my cheater mouth shut.

    Book Club: 100 years of solitude

    Authors: No idea

    Book Bag: Carl “Billions and Billions of Stars” Sagan? Not sure about this one.

  2. April 27, 2012 9:44 am

    I only know two this week:

    Classics: Rocinante (my first Steinbeck work, I loved it and still do).

    Book Club: 100 Years of Solitude (which, I am embarrassed to say, I have never finished).

  3. freshhell permalink
    April 27, 2012 9:55 am

    I don’t think I ever read that Steinbeck. But, like Karen, I never finished 100 Years of Solitude. At some point, everyone had the same name and I could no longer keep track of what the hell was going on. I stopped short of throwing it across the room, but I did close it with disgust and never opened it again.

  4. April 27, 2012 12:49 pm

    Classics: Rocinante (I love that book!)

    Book Club: One Hundred Years of Solitude (I think)

  5. Karen D permalink
    April 27, 2012 2:30 pm

    One Hundred Years of Solitude….other than that, I don’t know.

  6. April 27, 2012 3:08 pm

    Latitude! (or longitude — I can never tell those two apart.)

    • April 30, 2012 7:40 am

      Maybe this title could be your start. I finally got a handle on port and starboard at one point, although now that I say that I find I’ve forgotten which is which again.

      • April 30, 2012 3:25 pm

        Starbord is right, because like right it has more letters. Port is left — both have 4 letters.

        I still can’t remember which is which about the l/l, though. Although I guess longitude goes up and down, which does seem a bit longer.

  7. April 28, 2012 12:20 pm

    I never read that Jill Murphy book, but her previous effort, “Peace At Last,” was one of my favorites to read aloud to my kids. Poor Papa Bear moves from room to room desperately seeking silence so he can get some rest; he finally falls asleep just as the alarm goes off. His wife politely inquires if he has slept well, and he (just as politely and with astounding restraint) replies, “Not very well, dear.” This became a byword in our family of uber-light sleepers!

  8. April 30, 2012 7:41 am

    Children’s: Five Minutes’ Peace
    Classics: Rocinante
    Non-Fiction: Longitude
    Book Club: One Hundred Years of Solitude
    Authors: Laurie Garrett
    Book Bag: Carl Sagan

Leave a Reply

