Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

May 11, 2012

Children’s: What classic Shel Silverstein book begins: “Once there was a tree…and she loved a little boy”?

Classics: What Henry James novella tells of a governess terrorized by a pair of malicious ghosts?

Non-Fiction: What book by historian Guido Knopp chronicles five women in the Nazi inner circle and, curiously, Marlene Dietrich?

Book Club: What splashy Daniel Wallace bestseller was subtitled “A Novel of Mythic Proportions”?

Authors: What author of young adult books was flooded with calls after incorporating his actual phone number into I Am the Cheese?

Book Bag: Who churned out 27 books in the 1990s, including The Eyes of Love, Passage to Love, The Wild City of Love and The Protection of Love?

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen D permalink
    May 11, 2012 7:29 am

    The Giving Tree
    The Turn of the Screw
    ?
    ?
    Robert Cormier
    ?

  2. May 11, 2012 7:35 am

    Well, darn, I thought I was early enough to get the children’s question right.

    • May 11, 2012 8:11 am

      You have to get up pretty early in the morning to be first around here…but you get credit for knowing!

  3. May 11, 2012 8:38 am

    Children’s: The Giving Tree

    Classics:The Turn of the Screw

    Non-Fiction: ?

    Book Club: Big Fish. yet another one I know because of the movie not the book.

    Authors: Robert Cormier

    Book Bag: No idea. Sounds like someone like Barbara Cartland or Danielle Steel, though.

    • May 11, 2012 8:53 am

      It certainly does. And this game so often rewards guessing.

      • May 11, 2012 8:58 am

        In that case, I’ll go with Barbara. I don’t know anything about either of their books, but I’ve seen pictures of both and the titles sound more like Barbara Cartland looks.

  4. May 11, 2012 8:58 am

    Giving Tree
    Turn of the Screw
    Robert Cormier

  5. May 11, 2012 12:35 pm

    Children’s: The Giving Tree

    Classics: The Turn of the Screw

    Book Club: Big Fish

    Authors: Robert Cormier

    I did good this week!

  6. May 13, 2012 8:08 pm

    Did anyone else hate the giving tree? What was the point of it? That mothers are supposed to chop themselves down for their children, who will not appreciate it? Just wondering.

    • Karen D permalink
      May 14, 2012 1:41 am

      I also don’t much like The Giving Tree. Sacrifice yourself for someone you love…and then apologize (when you’ve given up fruit, branches, trunk) for not having more to give.

      A friend gave a copy to my son, but I don’t keep it upstairs in the regular reading rotation at bedtime.

      I do think that parenting involves sacrifice as well as joy, but…the book rubs me the wrong way.

      • May 14, 2012 7:39 am

        The first time I read that book was when a student in my Fantasy Literature class at University of Maryland gave it to me as a present. So I have a nice memory associated with it, and did not read it out loud to my kids.

  7. May 14, 2012 7:41 am

    Children’s: The Giving Tree
    Classics: The Turn of the Screw
    Non-Fiction: Hitler’s Women
    Book Club: Big Fish
    Authors: Robert Cormier
    Book Bag: Barbara Cartland

  8. May 14, 2012 8:34 pm

    Oh bother, the answers have all been posted and I knew a bunch of them. You will just have to take my word for it. I knew all but Authors. Well, I was guessing on Barbara Cartland but it was a pretty good guess because she was nonsensically prolific.

    • May 15, 2012 11:30 am

      You’re the only one of us who had heard of Hitler’s Women, then.

      • May 15, 2012 6:59 pm

        I saw it at the library once when I was looking for something else. And I remembered because I thought “Marlene Dietrich? What?” :p

Leave a Reply

