Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

June 15, 2012

Children’s: What mysterious author’s Series of Unfortunate Events begins with The Bad Beginning?

Classics: What former Pinkerton agent wrote three dozen stories set at the Continental Detective Agency?

Non-Fiction: What rapper annotates his own lyrics in the book Angry Blonde, to keep fans from “overanalyzing” them?

Book Club: What John Irving tale begins “The summer my father bought the boat*, none of us was born”?

Authors: What Citadel graduate served two tours of duty in Vietnam, before authoring his historical Fallon novels under the name Reagan O’Neal?

Book Bag: What 1970 bestseller explained: “Your whole body, from wingtip to wingtip, is nothing more than your thought itself, in a form you can see”?

*update: typo for “bear”

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2012 8:10 am

    Children’s: Lemony Snicket
    Classics: Only guessing, but Dashiell Hammett?
    Nonfiction: Eminem surely?
    Book Club: I’m going to say A Prayer for Owen Meany (cause I can’t remember any other John Irving books)
    Book Bag: Jonathan Livingston Seagull

    I guessed on all but the first one of those. I will be v. excited if I got three right.

  2. June 15, 2012 8:42 am

    Children’s: Lemony Snicket, aka Daniel Handler, who, incidentally, went to college with my brother.

    Classics: Dashiell Hammett

    Non-Fiction: Eminem, the control freak.

    Book Club: The Hotel New Hampshire. I was just thinking about rereading this one. It’s been ages and it’s a good summer book.

    Authors: ?

    Book Bag: Jonathan Livingston Seagull

  3. June 15, 2012 8:45 am

    I believe the answer to authors is Robert Jordan – a South Carolina author.

    Daniel Handler aka Lemony Snicket spoke at the audiobook tea at BEA and he is hilarious!!

  4. June 15, 2012 11:20 am

    Children’s: Lemony Snicket

    Book Club: Ok, I really think the answer is suppose to be The Hotel New Hampshire, because I just finished this one. But the opening line is actually,
    “The summer my father bought the BEAR..”

    • June 18, 2012 8:36 am

      oops. I don’t know why I looked at the word “bear” and saw “boat”!

  5. June 15, 2012 1:08 pm

    Lemony Snicket; Dashiell Hammett; no idea; Hotel New Hampshire (but Melissa is right!); no idea; it has to be Jonathan Livingston Seagull!

  6. June 15, 2012 3:50 pm

    I guessed on Jonathon Livingston Seagull. No clue on the others.

  7. June 15, 2012 4:16 pm

    I only know Children’s, Lemony Snicket. No clue on the others. I haven’t read John Irving in ages.

  8. June 15, 2012 10:59 pm

    Funny, I didn’t even notice that it said boat instead of bear. That would be a totally different book.

    • June 16, 2012 8:56 am

      Oops. This is what happens when I type late at night without my reading glasses.

  9. Karen D permalink
    June 16, 2012 7:51 pm

    I only knew Lemony Snicket and Jonathan Livingston Seagull.
    I knew I would recognize the Pinkerton one (and I do, having read the comments now), but I couldn’t recall his name. Sigh.

  10. June 18, 2012 8:38 am

    Children’s: Lemony Snicket
    Classics: Dashiell Hammett
    Non-Fiction: Eminem
    Book Club: The Hotel New Hampshire
    Authors: Robert Jordan
    Book Bag: Jonathan Livingston Seagull

Leave a Reply

