Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

June 22, 2012

Children’s: What Norton Juster book sends young Milo and his toy car to settle a dispute between the warring kingdoms of Dictionopolis and Digitopolis?

Classics: What novel by Kate Chopin shocked readers in 1899 with its sympathetic portrait of adultery?

Non-Fiction: What Sopranos star fondly recalls running numbers as a youth in his memoir Who’s Sorry Now: The True Story of a Stand-up Guy?

Book Club: What author summed up his Girl in Landscape as a “Southern Gothic Western set on Mars”?

Authors: What feminist novelist got her first taste of notoriety for The Grand Coolie Damn, her 1969 essay exposing sexism in the New Left?

Book Bag: What hard-drinking ad man takes up detective work in George Pelecanos’ novel A Firing Offense?

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Harriet M. Welsch permalink
    June 22, 2012 7:23 am

    Children’s: Possibly my favorite book of all time, The Phantom Tollbooth

    Classics: The Awakening

    Non-Fiction: No idea. Never seen the show. Although I did once ride in an elevator with Edie Falco and James Gandolfini. I was staying in a Chicago hotel to give a paper at a conference. They were apparently in town filming. I had no idea who they were until someone I knew saw the three of us get off the elevator together and informed me.

    Book Club: Jonathan Lethem! I was just looking at that one. Probably won’t read it though.

    Authors: I used to know this, but couldn’t think of it and had to look it up so I didn’t drive myself crazy.

    Book Bag: ?

    Tough one this week!

  2. June 22, 2012 8:37 am

    Children’s: The Phantom Tollbooth! I just read the annotated version at Christmas

    Classics: The Awakening

  3. Karen D permalink
    June 22, 2012 8:47 am

    The Phantom Tolbooth
    and the only male Sopranos star whose name I can remember is James Gandolfini, but I doubt that’s the answer.

  4. freshhell permalink
    June 22, 2012 1:14 pm

    The Phantom Tollbooth (best book ever)
    The Awakening

  5. June 22, 2012 2:14 pm

    Is it time for my 8yo to read The Phantom Tollbooth?

  6. June 22, 2012 4:11 pm

    Yes, I think so —

    I got the same ones everyone else did, and none of the others.

  7. June 24, 2012 10:03 am

    I loved The Phantom Tollbooth. I can’t imagine anyone not liking it.

  8. June 25, 2012 8:15 am

    Children’s: The Phantom Tollbooth
    Classics: The Awakening
    Non-Fiction: Joe Pantoliano
    Book Club: Jonathan Lethem
    Authors: Marge Piercy
    Book Bag: Nick Stefanos

Leave a Reply

