Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

June 29, 2012

Children’s: What “King of Cartoons” was a spry 60 years old when he first started writing award-winning books like Abel’s Island and Doctor De Soto?

Classics: Which of The Leatherstocking Tales was written last, and features Hawkeye at his youngest?

Non-Fiction: What navigational aid developed in 13th-century Italy was The Invention That Changed the World, according to Amir Aczel’s 2002 book?

Book Club: What Martin Amis tale of 1980s materialism is subtitled A Suicide Note?

Authors: What author of Beyond Recognition, a former touring folk rocker, plunks bass in Stephen King’s all-literary garage band?

Book Bag: What Neil Gaiman novel pits three hapless deities against foes like Technical Boy and the Intangibles?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2012 7:38 am

    Children’s: William Steig; Non-fiction: Has to be the compass, right?; and Book Bag: American Gods? I never read it, but the title seems to match. I am feeling dumb today. It might have to do with the past three days of over 100 degree heat. 😦 But! Solar panels! I am reducing my carbon footprint like mad!

  2. June 29, 2012 7:53 am

    Children’s: William Steig. I have Sylvester’s Magic Pebble memorized.

    Classics: The only one I can think of is Last of the Mohicans. I don’t think that’s right, though.

    Non-Fiction: Compass

    Book Club: Money

    Authors: Ridley something, I think., All I’m thinking of this morning is Ridley Scott, which I know is wrong. I just read an article about the Remainders, who apparently played their last ever gig at last week’s ALA conference

    Book Bag: ? The only Gaiman book I’ve read is Coraline and it’s not that.

    • July 2, 2012 10:17 am

      I usually play whatever card is on top, but sometimes I do go a few cards down when I find a question that seems topical, like the one about The Rock Bottom Remainders.

  3. June 29, 2012 8:50 am

    I only know two. Children’s is William Steig, one of my favorite children’s authors — and Book Bag is Neil Gaiman. But I’ve no idea what the others are, though I do know Amy Tan is in the Rock Bottom Remainders. Didn’t know they’d given up gigs though.

  4. June 29, 2012 9:03 am

    Book Bag: American Gods – Yowza, this is a tough week!

  5. June 29, 2012 4:11 pm

    Again, I only know the children’s one. Guess all that childhood reading paid off…

  6. July 2, 2012 10:19 am

    Children’s: William Steig
    Classics: The Deerslayer
    Non-Fiction: the compass
    Book Club: Money
    Authors: Ridley Pearson
    Book Bag: American Gods

  7. July 2, 2012 11:32 am

    Didn’t know any. 😦

    I’ve even read AMerican Gods! I can brag that I have read an Amis book, too but I can’t recall the title. Only that it was a most interesting love story.

  8. Lemming's kin permalink
    July 2, 2012 10:02 pm

    I claim one point for knowing that Leatherstockings was written by JF Cooper. First read of this blog in 3 years…. I’m neither a lurker nor an English major,

Leave a Reply

