Skip to content

Vacation Book Giveaway

July 6, 2012

I’m taking a vacation from blogging for a couple of weeks, but I thought I’d leave you with something to think about–in the process of going through our books, we’ve found a few duplicate copies that we don’t need anymore, so I thought I would offer them free to a good home. Which one would you would like most?

Ray Bradbury, The October Country
Ray Bradbury, The Martian Chronicles
David R. Palmer, Emergence
David R. Palmer, Threshold
Chris Crutcher, Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes
Zora Neale Hurston, Their Eyes Were Watching God
The John Fante Reader
Hugh Lofting, The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle
Beverly Cleary, Ramona the Pest
Beverly Cleary, Beezus and Ramona
Beverly Cleary, Ramona the Brave
Beverly Cleary, Henry Huggins
Beverly Cleary, Ralph S. Mouse

If someone else in the comments has already put in a bid for the one you’d like most, let me know if there’s another one you’d like.  If more than one person asks for a particular book, I will use random.org to pick a winner.

Please make sure I have your address, and I’ll begin to mail the books on July 20, which is the next date that “Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers” will appear. I am willing to mail a book internationally; the important thing is that you will give it a good home.

These are all paperbacks, and The October Country and The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle have been particularly well-loved, but none of them have marginal notes; we keep those copies.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2012 7:36 am

    I’d like to put in a bid for the John Fante reader, because I’ve been hearing a lot about him but have never read anything by him.

  2. July 6, 2012 8:06 am

    Have a wonderful vacation! I’d love to get the copy of Ralph S. Mouse. I read that all the time when I was growing up but I don’t have a copy of it now.

  3. Monique permalink
    July 6, 2012 8:08 am

    Oh, we’d give the Cleary books a good home! Any or all.

  4. July 6, 2012 10:39 am

    Zora Neale Hurston please!

  5. Karen D permalink
    July 7, 2012 4:00 pm

    Ralph S Mouse! Oh, but someone else already asked for it. That’s okay. We need a copy of the Mouse and the Motorcycle before Ralph S Mouse, I guess.

  6. July 19, 2012 9:02 am

    Okay, I’ll be sending Fante to Harriet, Ralph S. Mouse to Melissa, The Mouse and the Motorcycle to Karen D., the rest of the Cleary to Monique, and the Hurston to FreshHell.

    Does anyone want the Bradbury, Palmer, or Crutcher titles? We think they’re good books (that’s why we had two copies).

  7. July 19, 2012 10:10 am

    To my shame, I have never read any Bradbury. (hangs head in remorse) Please send me some.

  8. July 19, 2012 11:00 am

    I’d give the Palmer a try. (I’d prefer Emergence if you get 2 takers.)

  9. July 19, 2012 11:41 am

    Joe, Emergence is yours. It’s a book we’ve described as just about as good as Ender’s Game, but with a female protagonist. If no one else wants the second one, it’s yours too.

  10. Karen D permalink
    July 19, 2012 1:58 pm

    If Emergence is that good, I’d better try Threshold! As good as Ender’s game but with a girl is quite a recommendation. I should try something by that author.

    • July 19, 2012 3:24 pm

      Threshold is a sequel to Emergence. There was supposed to be a third, but Palmer says he can’t write it because his day job takes too much of his time and energy. So it begins after Emergence and ends…with you wanting a third book.

  11. Karen D permalink
    July 19, 2012 11:34 pm

    Oh. Maybe not for me right now. I have enough other sources of frustration in my life. Thank you for the warning!

Leave a Reply

