Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

July 27, 2012

Children’s: What LSD pioneer penned the children’s tale Little Tricker the Squirrel Meets Big Double the Bear?

Classics: What detective solved the Murder on the Links, the Murder in the Mews and the Murder in Mesopotamia?

Non-Fiction: What book, published in English in 1933 as My Struggle, is better-known by its untranslated title?

Book Club: What T.C. Boyle send-up of John Kellogg’s famed sanitarium shows the lengths patients will go to in pursuit of miracle cures?

Authors: What writer set Good Old Boy and other novels in his boyhood home of Yazoo City, Mississippi?

Book Bag: What apocalyptic 12-book series by Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenskins opens with millions of Earthlings disappearing into thin air?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2012 7:17 am

    Children’s: ? Trying to picture Timothy Leary writing a children’s book but it’s not happening.

    Classics: Hercule Poirot

    Non-Fiction: Mein Kampf

    Book Club: Road to Wellville. This game seems very movie focused. That’s the only way I get some of these.

    Authors: ?

    Book Bag: ? I read the word “apolcalyptic” and just assume I don’t know it.

  2. July 27, 2012 8:17 am

    Doing pretty well this week! I know three of them:

    Classics – Hercule Poirot

    Non-fiction – Mein Kampf

    Book Bag — the Left Behind series

  3. July 27, 2012 9:22 am

    Non-Fiction: Mein Kampf

    Book Bag: Left Behind

  4. July 27, 2012 2:15 pm

    I always struggled with Trivial Pursuit. Growing up LDS you would think that I would know the first one but I don’t. Mein Kampf I got.

  5. Karen D permalink
    July 27, 2012 3:08 pm

    I knew Mein Kampf and Left Behind.
    I’ve seen but not read The Road to Wellville.

  6. July 27, 2012 4:28 pm

    When I saw LSD mentioned in the first question, I started tripping and answered “Me” to every question. I’m pretty sure I’ll have to stay after school for detention, AND require extra credit to get my Trivial Pursuit grade up to a D-.

    • July 30, 2012 7:50 am

      Although I did used to tell my students, back when I was teaching, that they could get extra credit for making me laugh.

  7. July 27, 2012 7:17 pm

    Ken Kesey???
    Hercule Poirot
    Mein Kampf
    Left Behind

    Three! Maybe four. Three and a half.

  8. July 30, 2012 7:51 am

    Children’s: Ken Kesey
    Classics: Hercule Poirot
    Non-Fiction: Mein Kampf
    Book Club: The Road to Wellville
    Authors: Willie Morris
    Book Bag: Left Behind

Leave a Reply

