Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

August 17, 2012

Children’s: What author conjured up the characters Huckle Cat, Lowly Worm and Captain Salty?

Classics: What outlaw leads the group that rescues Saxon prisoners from Torquilstone Castle, in Ivanhoe?

Non-Fiction: What co-worker at a Seattle suicide hotline did Ann Rule come to recognize as a serial killer, inspiring her to write A Stranger Beside Me?

Book Club: What novelist revisits the cultural upheavals of post-war Japan, in An Artist of the Floating World?

Authors: What author signed into Harrogate’s Old Swan Hotel using the name of her hubby’s mistress, during her notorious 1926 disappearance?

Book Bag: What fictional legal scholar steps in to solve mysteries like The Shortest Way to Hades and Thus Was Adonis Murdered?

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2012 7:27 am

    Children’s: Richard Scarry. I just pulled a whole lot of his books and a couple of videos off AJ’s shelves to donate to the library sale. Sigh. He was a big favorite of both my childhood and AJ’s.

    Classics: Robin Hood

    Non-Fiction: ?

    Book Club: Ishiguro. One of the few of his novels that I haven’t read. It’s on my list.

    Authors: Agatha Christie

    Book Bag: Hah! I just donated The Shortest Way to Hades as well. A friend once gave it to me. I read it many years ago, but haven’t read it since. Author is Sarah Caudwell and the scholar is HIlary Tamar.

    Apparently divesting of my library is good for Trivial Pursuit!

  2. August 17, 2012 7:58 am

    Children’s: Richard Scarry
    Classics: It’s been almost 40 years since I read Ivanhoe, but I think it was actually Robin Hood.
    Nonfiction: Ted Bundy. It’s enough to put you off volunteerism for life.
    Book Club: ?
    Authors: Agatha Christie
    Book Bag: Sarah somebody. Not Caldwell, but like that?
    I’m pretty good this week – if I’m right about Robin Hood.

  3. August 17, 2012 8:33 am

    I only know three today:

    Children’s — Richard Scarry

    Book Club — Kazuo Ishiguro. Haven’t read it though.

    Authors — Agatha Christie

  4. August 17, 2012 10:10 am

    Richard Scarry!
    I think Robin Hood?
    I recognize the titles as being by Sarah Cauldwell – but I’ve never read them, don’t know the scholar.

  5. August 19, 2012 10:26 am

    Book Club: Kazuo Ishiguro
    Authors: Agatha Christie
    :)fun!

  6. August 19, 2012 9:10 pm

    Children’s: Richard Scarry
    Classics: Robin of Locksley (Robin Hood)
    Non-Fiction: Ted Bundy
    Book Club: Kazuo Ishiguro
    Authors: Agatha Christie
    Book Bag: Hilary Tamar

  7. August 21, 2012 2:05 pm

    Didn’t know any! not even a maybe-guess!

Leave a Reply

