Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

August 31, 2012

Children’s: What author adds sixth-graders Frankie and Devin to classic tales to make “Cracked Classics” like Humbug Holiday and Trapped in Transylvania?

Classics: What British detective is ably assisted by a manservant named Bunter?

Non-Fiction: What Homer Hickam book is named for the shipping lanes off Cape Hatteras where the U.S. Coast Guard battled U-boats?

Book Club: What disarming John Gardner book tells the monster’s side of the Beowulf epic?

Authors: What author of Skinny Legs and All observed “young girls are the biological equivalent of ‘new car smell'”?

Book Bag: Who penned 45 historical romances before turning to best-selling thrillers like Blindside?

 

 

 

 

 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen D permalink
    August 31, 2012 7:46 am

    I only know Lord Peter Wimsey. (or wish I did)

  2. August 31, 2012 8:18 am

    I come every week to read and weep.

  3. August 31, 2012 8:21 am

    Children’s: ?

    Classics: Peter Wimsey

    Non-Fiction: ?

    Book Club: Grendel. I forgot about this book. It blew me away when I read it in high school. I may need to take another look.

    Authors: Tom Robbins. Another author I read in about the same era I read Grendel.

    Book Bag: ?

    • August 31, 2012 10:15 am

      The author of Grendel came to my college and gave a talk about it. He was very interesting, but the thing that sticks in my memory was that he had white hair and skin, and he fooled with his pipe while he was thinking, so his fingers and some of his face always had black streaks.

  4. August 31, 2012 10:03 am

    No clue, no clue, who? – sound rather interesting, ugh, no idea, well huh. That’s that.

  5. August 31, 2012 11:07 am

    Oh, swoon. I ought to re-read all of the Lord Peter books.

  6. August 31, 2012 11:16 am

    Oooh, I know three! Lord Peter Wimsey (sp?), Grendel, and Tom Robbins, who I’ll hear speak at my writers’ conference in Oct. He’s a Richmonder originally.

  7. September 1, 2012 7:15 am

    I only know Tom Robbins. Is it just me or is that quote not kind of creepy?

    • September 3, 2012 8:41 am

      I wondered that as I typed it. But I haven’t read the book, so decided not to judge.

  8. September 2, 2012 4:48 pm

    Peter Wimsey, and that’s all. *weeps* It’s TOO HARD, Jeanne! Now I will feel like a complete failure for my whole Labor Day weekend!

  9. September 3, 2012 8:43 am

    Children’s: Tony Abbott
    Classics: Lord Peter Wimsey
    Non-Fiction: Torpedo Junction
    Book Club: Grendel
    Authors: Tom Robbins
    Book Bag: Catherine Coulter

  10. September 3, 2012 8:46 am

     Sigh no more, ladies, sigh no more,
     These questions were deceivers ever,
     One foot in classics and one in bestsellers,
     To one thing constant never.
     Then sigh not so, but let them go,
     And be you blithe and bonny.

Leave a Reply

