Skip to content

Book Blogger Appreciation

September 10, 2012

This is book blogger appreciation week, when we celebrate ourselves by saying what we like about each other. It’s a good thing, because who reads blogs besides other bloggers?

You know how, when someone has taken a group picture that includes you, the first thing you look at is yourself? I think there’s an element of that in this week, the Robert Burns idea of being able to see ourselves as others see us.

The book blogs I read most often are not necessarily the most popular ones. The authors don’t post every day, and most of them don’t do a lot of joining in on memes like the one where the blogger posts photos of book covers. They’re just readers who like to write about what they think. Many of them have been blogging for a pretty long time in blog years, which is to say three or four. All of them have interesting conversation in their comments.

I won’t mention all of the blogs I read, but I am going to mention a few of the ones you might enjoy checking out if you’re already here reading, kind of like the section in a bookstore that features a book that sold well and then beside it displays other similar titles. It might not be that my blog is that much like these others, but perhaps that I aspire to making it more like.

Jenny’s Books: This is one I definitely aspire to becoming more like. Her conversational tone is charming, she is wildly enthusiastic about good books, and her post tags are hilarious.

Things Mean A Lot: This blogger’s enthusiasm is as infectious as her tastes are wide-ranging. And did I mention that the blog is well-written? All the blogs I read are, but this one stands out for more than its purple background.

Bookgazing:  Three years ago I was matched up with this blogger for a BBAW interview, and now I never miss one of her thoughtful and perceptive analyses.

Shelf Love:  (other) Jenny and Teresa like a lot of the same kinds of books I like, but between the two of them, they cover a lot more literary ground.

Boston Bibliophile:  She reads the kinds of books I like and a few I aspire to, like books in translation.

Sophisticated Dorkiness:  This blog forces me outside my preferred reading zone and into non-fiction. As a plus, sometimes she has cat photos.

Avid Reader’s Musings:  Avid Reader is a concise writer. I like that.

Come, Sit By the Hearth:  This is my newest favorite blog for poetry, one I discovered through The Poetry Project, organized at The Written World and Regular Rumination.

Bermuda Onion’s Weblog: There’s usually something new here, and if I’m feeling talkative enough to comment, one reward is that this blogger will continue the conversation– not necessarily in terms of a response, but a return comment on something I’ve said.

Care’s Online Book Club:  It doesn’t matter what she’s writing about, she’s entertaining. Plus, she posts pictures of pie.

Life With Books: Have I mentioned I like good writing? This blogger gets her personality across, making her reactions fun to read.

Now perhaps (as in the Burns poem) it would from many a blunder free me to be able to see myself as others might see me– but please, try to leave me a few illusions about how close I can bring this blog to the best parts of the other blogs I admire.

Update: I’m also appreciating Savvy Verse and Wit for organizing those of us who like to read and write about poetry, and particularly for interviewing me about it today in her Profile of Poetry Blogger Necromancy Never Pays.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2012 6:32 am

    What a great list of blogs! I know them all and so (for the first time this morning) my google reader isn’t in danger of exploding!

  2. September 10, 2012 7:25 am

    I love your posts! I love how you bring poetry alive. I just marvel how you can think up a poem you’ve read that applies to a current situation and you always have amazing insight to share. THANK YOU. (ps – postcard arrived! 😀 love it – has a boat!)

  3. September 10, 2012 12:54 pm

    Just discovered your site through Sophisticated Dorkiness’ BBAW post and am now all subbed up: looking forward to more!

  4. September 10, 2012 2:16 pm

    I just came over from Sophisticated Dorkiness, too. I’m finding all sorts of new blogs from everybody’s thoughtfully expressed appreciations and I’ll definitely check out your suggestions, too, of the ones I don’t already know and love!

  5. September 10, 2012 2:38 pm

    Thanks for linking to the interview. I hope everyone loves it.

  6. September 10, 2012 4:15 pm

    Great list! Some I know; some I want to get to know now.

  7. September 10, 2012 9:03 pm

    I’m honored to be included on your very eclectic and wonderful list. We have quite a few shared favorite blogs. I’d have to say that Care has some of the most hilarious and long post tags I’ve ever come across so I’ll have to check out Jenny’s as well. And I love your point about “who reads blogs other than other bloggers.” That is a point my husband makes ALL THE TIME but I say “Who cares?”

  8. September 10, 2012 9:15 pm

    Thanks so much for the shout-out! I know most of the blogs that you mention, and they are very good indeed.

  9. September 10, 2012 9:53 pm

    Hahaha, I was going to leave basically the exact comment about Jenners that she just left about me. Adding to my Google Reader!

    Also, awwww, Jeanne, you’re making me blush. I think you are absolutely smashing!

  10. September 10, 2012 11:11 pm

    There are so many excellent bloggers on this list! I think we’re drawn to similar bloggers — meme avoiders who just like to write about books. I’ll have to check out the few on your list I don’t recognize.

  11. Jenny permalink
    September 10, 2012 11:48 pm

    This makes me feel so great, because I would like to be more like your blog, too: more poetry, and more quiet personal introspection based on the books I read. I love it here, Jeanne.

  12. September 12, 2012 6:50 pm

    Great list of bloggers! Love The Boston Bibliophile, and you can never go wrong with cat photos. 🙂

  13. September 13, 2012 2:45 pm

    I’m honored to be included! I think the concise aspect comes from years as a journalist. You learn to trim all the unnecessary words from your writing and that’s bled into my blog too. I love stopping by here so much, especially on Fridays! I missed my weekly trivia when we were on vacation.

  14. September 30, 2012 6:32 am

    I’m very, very late, but I still wanted to say thank you. Your words and the lovely company really made me smile.

Leave a Reply

