Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

September 28, 2012

Children’s: What book tails Zack Freeman across the Great Windy Desert and through the Brown Forest, as he chases after a runaway body part?

Classics: What doomed ship had crew members named Daggoo, Fedallah, Flash, Pip and Tashtego?

Non-Fiction: What book ends: “You spend a good piece of your life gripping a baseball, and in the end it turns out that it was the other way around all the time”?

Book Club: What John Fowles novel features a Victorian era heroine called “poor Tragedy” by Cornwall locals?

Authors: Who was dubbed “Ian Macabre” by the British press, for stories that began with lines like: “I saw my first corpse on Thursday”?

Book Bag: What science fiction author introduced the Three Laws of Robotics?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2012 8:16 am

    Children’s: I’d have to guess The Day my Butt Went Psycho.

    Classics: The Pequod

    Non-Fiction: Ball Four. This may be the only sports book I’ve ever actually read.

    Book Club: The French Lieutenant’s Woman

    Authors: Ian McEwan?

    Book Bag: Bradbury? No, wait, I think it’s Asimov.

    • October 1, 2012 7:30 am

      You got them all right! There should be a prize for this.

    • October 3, 2012 1:23 pm

      I laughed at Harriet’s first answer. It occurred to me that if my butt ever went psycho, I’d remember the day. I can’t imagine ever having to guess the day my butt went psycho.

      • October 4, 2012 9:32 am

        well, you know, some of us pay more attention to the physical than others!

  2. September 28, 2012 9:07 am

    Classics: Pequod, Moby Dick!

    Authors: McEwan

    Book Bag: Asimov

  3. Karen D permalink
    September 28, 2012 4:22 pm

    I only knew about the Pequod and Asimov….but I’m guessing Ian McEwan for the “Authors” category.

    No idea on the others, I’m afraid.

  4. September 28, 2012 6:28 pm

    The Pequod!

  5. October 1, 2012 7:31 am

    Children’s: The Day My Butt Went Psycho
    Classics: The Pequod
    Non-Fiction: Ball Four
    Book Club: The French Lieutenant’s Woman
    Authors: Ian McEwan
    Book Bag: Isaac Asimov

Leave a Reply

