Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

October 5, 2012

Children’s: What Helen Bannerman classic reappeared in the 1990s under the less controversial titles Sam and the Tigers and The Story of Little Babaji?

Classics: What city is the destination for the Count’s boxes of dirt, in Bram Stoker’s Dracula?

Non-Fiction: What American Splendor cartoonist penned Our Cancer Year, an illustrated memoir of his battles with chemotherapy?

Book Club: What Iain Banks novel opens with the memorable line “It was the day my grandmother exploded”?

Authors: What newspaper publisher called for “the total extermination of the Indians,” 10 years before launching a famed series of children’s novels?

Book Bag: What band and its die-hard fans feature in Max Ludington’s debut novel Tiger in a Trance?

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2012 6:36 am

    Darn, I’m here early today! I think Book Club is The Crow Road.

  2. October 5, 2012 7:25 am

    Children’s: Little Black Sambo. We had the Little Babaji version for AJ, which was wonderful.

    Classics: London? I haven’t read this in ages and am trying to remember.

    Non-Fiction: Pekar

    Book Club: No idea, but I love that as a first line!

    Authors: Baum? He’d be about the right era and location and I think he was a newspaper man. I’m sorry to hear this, though, if it’s him.

    Book Bag: ?

  3. October 5, 2012 9:33 am

    Classics: Either London or New York I think.

    Non-Fiction: Harvey Pekar

    Book Club: The only novel of his I can think of is The Wasp Factory.

  4. October 5, 2012 1:50 pm

    Little Black Sambo! and Harvey Pekar. Don’t know the others — I bet Harriet is right about Baum. Hmm.

  5. edj3 permalink
    October 5, 2012 3:08 pm

    Banks! But one I haven’t read. The Crow Road.

  6. October 5, 2012 10:33 pm

    I confess that I don’t really get the controversy about Little Black Sambo. It seems so benign to me. And I’ve thought about it. An old copy of it has been on my bedside table for ages, because I hope proximity solves the mystery.

    • October 8, 2012 8:14 am

      I think it’s the title. As a person with a handicapped parking tag, I tend to substitute the word “crippled” for “black” or “gay” or any other modifier that perhaps doesn’t strictly have to be there. Because, you know, there are circumstances in which I don’t need to be identified by an obvious physical characteristic.

      • October 8, 2012 12:32 pm

        Really? I thought it was the combination of the title and the pancakes.

        • October 8, 2012 12:35 pm

          Pancakes? Is there some watermelon and chitlins connotation I’m missing there?

  7. October 6, 2012 6:03 pm

    Little Black Sambo, which seriously is the most charming book in the world. And London and Harvey Pekar, and that’s all I got.

  8. October 7, 2012 4:05 pm

    I knew the first one. I like the new version Sam and the Tigers — the author, Julius Lester, was born in St. Louis.

  9. October 8, 2012 8:10 am

    Children’s: Little Black Sambo
    Classics: London
    Non-Fiction: Harvey Pekar
    Book Club: The Crow Road
    Authors: L. Frank Baum
    Book Bag: The Grateful Dead

Leave a Reply

