Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

October 19, 2012

Children’s: What children’s author chronicled the menagerie living at her Chappaqua, New York home in The Tarantula in My Purse and 172 Other Wild Pets?

Classics: What Robert Louis Stevenson adventure features David Balfour’s escape from a wrecked ship?

Non-Fiction: Who describes her unusual life journey from Princeton to the Middle East, in Leap of Faith: Memoirs of an Unexpected Life?

Book Club: What Toni Morrison novel introduces Shadrack, inventor of National Suicide Day?

Authors: What humorist dedicated his first book after the 2001 death of his wife: “I wrote this for Alice. Actually, I wrote everything for Alice”?

Book Bag: What stub-tailed tomcat solves crimes in Shirley Rousseau Murphy mysteries?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. magpiemusing permalink
    October 19, 2012 7:44 am

    Chappaqua! Jean George. (you put that in for me?). And, author is Calvin Trillin.

    • October 22, 2012 7:48 am

      I did think of you when I picked up the card from the top of the stack!

  2. Karen D permalink
    October 19, 2012 7:44 am

    I got _Kidnapped_, but the others…
    well, is the memoir from Queen Noor?

    • October 22, 2012 7:49 am

      Yes. I think this game almost always rewards guessing.

  3. October 19, 2012 7:54 am

    I knew Kidnapped but someone beat me to it!

  4. Ron permalink
    October 19, 2012 8:01 am

    David Balfour is the hero of Kidnapped.

  5. October 19, 2012 8:28 am

    Children’s: Jean Craighead-George! So funny — I didn’t realize she was from Chappaqua until last night when I picked up Andy’s copy of My Side of the Mountain (one of my childhood obsessions) and suggested that now that we’re living in the city we should read it again.

    Classics: Kidnapped

    Non-Fiction: Queen Noor

    Book Club: ? I an only say not Song of Solomon or the Bluest Eye

    Authors: Calvin Trillin

    Book Bag: Why is this category always mysteries? I know these books only by their ubiquitous appearance on the shelves of airport bookstores. No idea what the cat’s name is.

  6. October 19, 2012 8:29 am

    Gah. Only got *Kidnapped*.

  7. October 19, 2012 8:48 am

    I got nothing!

  8. Valerie permalink
    October 19, 2012 10:20 am

    Book Bag is Joe Grey. Wow, An unanswered question for us left coasters!

    • October 22, 2012 7:50 am

      Two, actually, since it doesn’t look like there are many devoted Toni Morrison fans here.

  9. October 19, 2012 1:51 pm

    I do like Calvin Trillin.

  10. October 22, 2012 7:52 am

    Children’s: Jean Craighead George
    Classics: Kidnapped
    Non-Fiction: Queen Noor
    Book Club: Sula
    Authors: Calvin Trillin
    Book Bag: Joe Grey

Leave a Reply

