Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

November 2, 2012

Children’s: What Carl Hiaasen children’s book pits young hero Roy Eberhardt against Mother Paula’s Pancake House to save some endangered burrowing owls?

Classics: What orphan, in a Bronte novel, falls in love with Edward Rochester?

Non-Fiction: What expatriate wrote of his return to the U.S. after 20 years in I’m a Stranger Here Myself?

Book Club: Who set her novels Welcome to the World, Baby Girl! and Standing in the Rainbow in the small town of Elmwood Springs, Missouri?

Authors: What mystery novelist’s biography of her surrogate mom, evangelist Billy Graham’s wife Ruth, sparked an eight-year spat between them?

Book Bag: What novel did John Grisham dedicate to his high school football-playing son Ty?

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2012 7:56 am

    Children’s: Hoot

    Classics: Jane Eyre. Do you even have to ask?

    Non-Fiction: Bill Bryson

    Book Club: Fannie Flagg

    Authors: ? But it’s a tantalizing question

    Book Bag: ? Although I shared a cab yesterday with a woman who was telling me I should read more John Grisham (she’s a big fan, I haven’t read any of his books in at least a decade). Maybe she knew I’d have to face this question in the morning!

  2. November 2, 2012 8:52 am

    Children’s: Hoot

    Classics: Jane Eyre!

    Non-Fiction: Bill Bryson

    Book Club: Fannie Flagg

    Book Bag: Bleachers

    I rocked it this week!

  3. freshhell permalink
    November 2, 2012 8:56 am

    Hoot, Jane Eyre, Fannie Flagg, Patricia Cornwell

  4. November 2, 2012 9:06 am

    I knew a couple of them but didn’t get here early enough. Darn!

    • November 2, 2012 9:37 am

      I figure anyone who would come here gets credit for the “Classics” question, don’t you?

  5. Karen D permalink
    November 2, 2012 10:11 am

    I got Jane Eyre and Bill Bryson. I read Bleachers but couldn’t remember its title when I read this question…sigh.

  6. November 3, 2012 6:22 am

    Well hurrah, I got one this week. Although harri3tspy is right, that one was a gimme.

    • November 5, 2012 8:40 am

      I’m glad you agree that anyone who comes here would know that one…

  7. November 3, 2012 11:16 am

    I got Hoot, Jane Eyre, and Bill Bryson. Three out of six isn’t so bad.

    • November 5, 2012 8:42 am

      I think it’s a good week when I get 3 out of 6. My usual average is 2 out of 6.

  8. magpiemusing permalink
    November 3, 2012 8:10 pm

    I loved Hoot. I read it to the girl recently.

    • November 5, 2012 8:41 am

      Yes, my kids read it when they were in 6th or 7th grade, and found it slightly didactic but still fun.

  9. November 5, 2012 8:43 am

    Children’s: Hoot
    Classics: Jane Eyre
    Non-Fiction: Bill Bryson
    Book Club: Fannie Flagg
    Authors: Patricia Cornwell
    Book Bag: Bleachers

Leave a Reply

