Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

December 21, 2012

Children’s: What J. C. Greenburg series follows the adventures of Andrew Dubble, 10-year-old inventor of the Whoops Eraser and the Atom Sucker?

Classics: What Eugene O’Neill play is set in a seedy New York saloon called Harry’s Hope?

Non-Fiction: What notorious unauthorized biographer got a dose of her own medicine in George Carpozi Jr.’s 1991 Poison Pen?

Book Club: What Tobias Wolff novel is set at a tony boys’ academy where Robert Frost, Ernest Hemingway and Ayn Rand drop by?

Authors: What writer and critic, killed on a motorcycle four days before he was to marry, was the subject of his fiancee’s eulogy On Broken Glass 11 years later?

Book Bag: What Sena Jeter Nasland novel starts: “Captain Ahab was neither my first husband nor my last”?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2012 8:25 am

    Children’s: ? I think this is two weeks in a row I haven’t known the Children’s question. I’m losing my touch.

    Classics: The Iceman Cometh. True story: I used to live near the site of a former bar called Harry Hopes, where some really famous musicians used to come play in the middle of nowhere Illinois for some reason. e.g. Muddy Waters.

    Non-Fiction: Not sure, but I’d have to guess Kitty Kelly

    Authors: Oh, what is his name. The Grendel guy. Oh, John Gardner.

    Book Bag: Is this a trick question? Ahab’s Wife.

    Aren’t we one category short this week? But I can’t think of what it is. Book Club, maybe?

    • December 21, 2012 8:46 am

      You’re right–I’ve added the other question now. I was typing these too late at night, and around too much cat.

    • December 21, 2012 3:01 pm

      Harriet, at least you had a touch to lose. I’m on my umpteenth straight week of “I got nothin'” on these Trivial Pursuits. I can, however, drop and give you a minimum of 10 push-ups. So there’s that.

  2. Karen D permalink
    December 21, 2012 8:51 am

    Iceman Cometh
    Kitty Kelly

    don’t know the others…

  3. December 21, 2012 8:54 am

    Hey! I actually know one–and no one has answered it yet! Book Club: Old School. At one of the boarding schools I taught at, we read it as an all-school book and Wolff came in to speak. Which was not nearly as big of a deal as Frost, Hemingway, or Rand were in the novel, but was still pretty cool.

    • December 24, 2012 9:12 am

      I like it when everyone at a school reads the same book and the author comes in to talk about it. Some of them are good speakers–I hope Wolff was.

  4. December 21, 2012 10:35 am

    Classics: The Iceman Cometh, I just finished this last week! Good timing.

    Book Club: Old School

    Merry Christmas Jeanne!

  5. December 22, 2012 2:47 am

    We got this game to play at work during down times (parties, etc.) but it is freaking hard. Did I mention I’m a bookseller, and all my co-workers thought it was freaking hard, too?

  6. December 23, 2012 7:39 pm

    i got nothin’. Even knowing the answers…

  7. December 24, 2012 9:02 am

    I just popped by to wish you a Merry Christmas!!

    • December 24, 2012 9:05 am

      And Merry Christmas to you! We are celebrating today by making pecan pie and cornbread dressing. Then we will go have tea, open presents, and play telephone pictionary with our local friends and all their relatives.

  8. December 24, 2012 9:11 am

    Children’s: Andrew Lost
    Classics: The Iceman Cometh
    Non-Fiction: Kitty Kelley
    Book Club: Old School
    Authors: John Gardner
    Book Bag: Ahab’s Wife

Leave a Reply

