Skip to content

List of Books for Curious and Inquisitive Elementary-School Age Children

February 10, 2013

This list has been up for a while, but I lost track of it. I call your attention to it now, over at the Estella Society.

Find these books and leave them around your house if you have children in elementary school…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2013 10:33 am

    Watership Down, surely?

    • February 12, 2013 1:01 pm

      Here kids read Watership Down in 6th grade, so if I were putting it on a list, it would be the middle school one (this one is aimed at children in grades 3-5 so ages 7 to 11).
      A FB friend mentioned Lloyd Alexander, which is on my middle-school-age list. It’s around here somewhere…coming soon.

  2. February 13, 2013 11:26 am

    I love these lists. I never know what’s age appropriate for my niece and nephews.

  3. February 13, 2013 2:21 pm

    There’s always going to be some disagreement (see the comment above!), but I think it’s generally better to give a book a kid will enjoy in the future than to risk giving one that’s too easy or “babyish.”

Leave a Reply

