Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

February 15, 2013

Children’s: Who got a contract to write his first book, The Pigman, after an editor saw his play The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds?

Classics: What Mark Twain tale centers on a high-stepping chracter named Dan’l Webster?

Non-Fiction: What sitcom star wondered, in her 2002 book Cancer Schmancer: “How much does a uterus weigh? Maybe I wouldn’t need that diet after all”?

Book Club: What bestseller is Larry McMurtry’s novel Dead Mans Walk a prequel to?

Authors: What U.S. industrialist wrote The International Jew, entire sections of which appeared unchanged in Adolf Hitler’s Mein Kampf?

Book Bag: What book introduced Michael Crichton fans to billionaire industrialist John Hammond?

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2013 7:05 am

    I wouldn’t want to play this with you in real life, I would SO lose. 🙂

    • February 18, 2013 8:03 am

      I rarely know as many as Harriet. My average is 3 out of 6.

  2. February 15, 2013 7:22 am

    Children’s: Paul Zindel

    Classics: I never get this title quite right. It’s something like “The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calavaras County.”

    Non-Fiction: Fran Drescher

    Book Club: Never read McMurtry and the only book I can think of is Lonesome Dove

    Authors: Ford. Ugh.

    Book Bag: Jurrassic Park?

    • February 18, 2013 8:04 am

      YOU GOT THEM ALL RIGHT!
      You win a prize. Hmm. What should it be?

  3. February 15, 2013 9:37 am

    Book Bag: Jurassic Park, that’s the only one I’ve got today!

  4. Karen D permalink
    February 16, 2013 9:51 am

    I got Lonesome Dove and Jurassic Park. That’s it for me!

  5. February 17, 2013 12:25 pm

    Authors: Whoa. Did not know that information. For real? That is awful.

  6. February 17, 2013 3:32 pm

    I’m just curious. Have you ever played this successfully in real life? I tried a couple of times to play it… but even with my bookish bookstore coworkers we missed too many answers and it got frustrating.

    • February 18, 2013 8:05 am

      No, I’ve never tried to play it in real life. Karen D. sent it to me because her family tried it and she thought I could find a group where I’d have more luck. Turns out, it takes an internet.

  7. February 18, 2013 8:07 am

    Children’s: Paul Zindel
    Classics: The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calveras County
    Non-Fiction: Fran Drescher
    Book Club: Lonesome Dove
    Authors: Henry Ford
    Book Bag: Jurassic Park

Leave a Reply

