Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

February 22, 2013

Children’s: What Ellean Raskin puzzle-mystery pits 16 heirs in a contest to win Sam Westing’s fortune?

Classics: Who suffered a nervous breakdown after Doubleday printed only 1,000 copies of his Sister Carrie, complaining it was “an immoral book”?

Non-Fiction: What two media barons battle it out in Richard Hack’s Clash of the Titans?

Book Club: What Jincy Willitt novel bears the publisher’s disclaimer: “The book has not been nominated for or won the National Book Award”?

Authors: What pen name did Blue Highways author William Trogdon adopt, in honor of an Osage ancestor?

Book Bag: What author features private eye Vincent Rubio, a velociraptor disguised as a human, in Anonymous Rex, Hot and Sweaty Rex and Casual Rex?

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2013 8:33 am

    Children’s: The Westing Game
    Classics: Theodore Dreiser, ugh, worst book ever
    Authors: William Least Heat Moon?
    Book Bag: Erik Garcia
    (If I got these right, it’s better than I usually do. Now I want to read The Westing Game again.)

  2. February 22, 2013 9:08 am

    Dreiser is the only one I know, but judging by NWK’s comment, I can be glad that I’ve never actually read it–my knowldge that Dreiser goes with Sister Carrie is pure trivia.

    Non-fiction: would that be Hearst and… Pullitzer?

  3. February 22, 2013 9:32 am

    The Westing Game, Dreiser, William Least Heat Moon. Dunno the rest.

  4. Karen D permalink
    February 22, 2013 11:37 am

    I knew the first two, but no others. I *loved* The Westing Game so much that I can’t wait for my nieces to be old enough to read and enjoy it. (First grade is probably a little young, and that’s the elder niece, so I’m going to have to be patient.)

  5. February 22, 2013 12:03 pm

    Children’s: The Westing Game (I love that book and I just talked about it on my blog on Tuesday!)

    Classics: Theodore Dreiser

    Authors: William Least Heat-Moon (This book reminded me Travel with Charley)

  6. February 24, 2013 11:03 pm

    Since I do not know the answers to any of the questions but the first two questions, I will just include this poem by Dorothy Parker:

    Theodore Dreiser
    Should ought to write nicer.

    • February 25, 2013 8:11 am

      Heh. I remember liking Sister Carrie, but I was probably just titillated by the immoral parts.

  7. February 25, 2013 8:12 am

    Children’s: The Westing Game
    Classics: Theodore Dreiser
    Non-Fiction: Rupert Murdoch and Ted Turner
    Book Club: Winner of the National Book Award
    Authors: William Least Heat-Moon
    Book Bag: Eric Garcia

Leave a Reply

