Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

May 24, 2013

Children’s: What famed 1956 children’s book spawned a sequel titled The Starlight Barking?

Classics: Whose novel The Castle tells of K., a land surveyor who is summoned to a village and then not allowed to meet with anyone?

Non-Fiction: What nation of contradictions is the setting for Marjane Satrapi’s comic book memoir Persepolis?

Book Club: What novel by Jane Hamilton charts the tragic consequences of a single mistake by Prairie Center newcomer Alice Goodwin?

Authors: What author of the memoir She’s Not There: A Life in Two Genders began life as James Boylan?

Book Bag: Who penned Nightwing, about a Hopi reservation besieged by vampire bats, before finding success writing international mysteries?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2013 6:38 am

    Yay! I know the answer to one of them! Non-Fiction: Iran.

  2. May 24, 2013 6:38 am

    Nonfiction is Iran!

  3. May 24, 2013 7:16 am

    Children’s: 101 Dalmations. Starlight Barking was one of my childhood favorites, but I don’t know anyone who didn’t grow up in the UK who has read it.

    Classics: Kafka

    Non-Fiction: Iran

    Book Club: A Map of the World

    Authors: Also a J Boylan. Jennifer, maybe?

    Book Bag: ? This category always stumps me!

  4. May 24, 2013 7:16 am

    Ugh. Dalmatians. Too early to be posting.

  5. May 24, 2013 11:20 am

    Children’s: 101 Dalmatians!

    Non-Fiction: Iran

  6. May 24, 2013 1:44 pm

    Jeez, I know these, too!
    101 Dalmations; Franz Kafka; Iran; Map of the World (which gave rise to the one rule of our book club — no dead children); Jennifer Boylan; and I have no idea what the answer to the last question is.

  7. May 24, 2013 2:12 pm

    Children’s: 101 Dalmatians
    Non-fiction: Iran
    Authors: Jenny Boylan

    Three. Not terrible.

  8. May 25, 2013 9:01 am

    I have three out of six:

    Children’s: 101 Dalmatians by Dodie Smith (also wrote I Capture the Castle which I LOVE.
    Classics: Franz Kafka (which I’ve never read)
    Non-fiction: Iran — loved this one too.

    I may have read the Hamilton years ago, but it’s been so long I’ve forgotten.

    I actually have Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers but have never found anyone willing to play with me. Not that I’m really good, just haven’t had the opportunity. Maybe I should just bring it to book group someday and ditch the conversation and play the game instead.

    • May 28, 2013 8:50 am

      The reason I have the game (and we’ve done just about all the cards–there are only a dozen more) is because my friend Karen D. couldn’t find anyone to play it with and thought I could. I couldn’t in real life; it takes the whole internet to play this game, apparently. Over the past few years, I’ve sent out prizes to only four people who got all six questions right (the prizes were always obscure books few people in the world have read).

  9. May 25, 2013 9:56 pm

    Kafka and Iran- that’s all I know 🙂

  10. May 27, 2013 7:44 pm

    HaHA! I am a genius this time even though I am coming to it late:

    Children’s: 101 Dalmations (not as good as I Capture the Castle)
    Classics: Kafka probably?
    Nonfiction: Iran
    Book Club: Don’t know.
    Authors: Jennifer Finney Boylan
    Book bag: Also don’t know. But that was four! HaHA!

  11. May 28, 2013 8:51 am

    Children’s: The Hundred and One Dalmations
    Classics: Franz Kafka
    Non-Fiction: Iran
    Book Club: A Map of the World
    Authors: Jennifer Boylan
    Book Bag: Martin Cruz Smith

  12. Karen D permalink
    May 28, 2013 6:52 pm

    I knew Kafka and guessed Iran but had nothing on the others!

Leave a Reply

