Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

May 31, 2013

Children’s: What Jeff Brown title character was based on his son’s fear of being crushed by a big bulletin board?

Classics: Who does Eliza Doolittle end up marrying, in George Bernard Shaw’s Pygmalion–Freddy Eynsford-Hill, Col Pickerington or Prof. Higgins?

Non-Fiction: What environmentally active Kennedy co-authored The Riverkeepers with John Cronin?

Book Club: What Michael Ondaatje novel recounts the life of Hungarian mapmaker Laszlo Almasy, while he lies dying of severe burns?

Authors: What Kurt Vonnegut Jr. character was inspired by science fiction writer Theodore Sturgeon?

Book Bag: What Kate Atkinson tale of Effie Andrews’ quest to learn her true family history begins “My mother was a virgin, trust me”?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2013 8:12 am

    Children’s: Flat Stanley

    Classics: Freddy

    Non-Fiction: Bobby Jr.

    Book Club: The English Patient?

    Authors: Hah, I didn’t know this, but given the fishy names, it is surely Kilgore Trout.

    Book Bag: I saw Atkinson and thought I’d know this — I just finished her latest yesterday. But I actually don’t — and am pleased to hear there’s an Atkinson novel I haven’t read yet!

  2. May 31, 2013 2:06 pm

    Classics: Freddy Eynsford

    Book Club: The English Patient

    Authors: Kilgore Trout

  3. May 31, 2013 3:05 pm

    Book Bag: Emotionally Weird- one of my all time favorite books! “Lo- we were as jumbled as a box of biscuits.”

  4. May 31, 2013 4:27 pm

    All I’ve got this week is the Classics. The answer is, none of the above. But GBS did say that she WOULD marry Freddy. And run a florist shop.

  5. Karen D permalink
    May 31, 2013 4:29 pm

    I knew The English Patient, but none of the others.

    I remember reading that book at Kenyon one summer. Living in the Aclands and doing Summer Science…

    • June 3, 2013 11:57 am

      It’s interesting how some books get twined up in memories of the time you read them, isn’t it? I have a similarly strong memory of reading The Magic Mountain during my lunch breaks while working as a file clerk the spring after I graduated (early) from Hendrix.

  6. June 3, 2013 11:55 am

    Children’s: Flat Stanley
    Classics: Freddy Eynsford-Hill
    Non-Fiction: Robert Kennedy Jr.
    Book Club: The English Patient
    Authors: Kilgore Trout
    Book Bag: Emotionally Weird

Leave a Reply

