Skip to content

Trivial Pursuit for Book Lovers

August 2, 2013

Children’s: What underdressed superhero is ably assisted by two fourth-graders named George and Harold?

Classics: Who began his play Krapp’s Last Tape with the elderly Krapp reading: “Box three, spool five”?

Non-Fiction: What author of Pal Joey, infamous for holding grudges, was the subject of Geoffrey Wolff’s biography The Art of Burning Bridges?

Book Club:  Who has written fictional “autobiographies” of Henry VIII, Mary Queen of Scots, and Cleopatra?

Authors: What budding Nobel-winner gave up calypso for the pen after Billie Holiday told her: “You’re going to be famous. But it won’t be for singing”?

Book Bag: What master of literary espionage was reduced to writing about pharmaceutical malfeasance, in The Constant Gardener?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2013 9:07 am

    Captain Underpants, I guess? John O’Hara I know for sure, and I’ll guess Margaret George, Maya Angelou, and (please don’t laugh at me if I’m wrong!) John Le Carre for Book Club, Authors, and Book Bag.

    • August 2, 2013 10:04 am

      not laughing! I revere le Carre more than ever for producing such a son.

  2. August 2, 2013 9:40 am

    Children’s: Maybe Captain Underpants?

    Book Bag: John le Carre

  3. August 2, 2013 9:55 am

    Wow. I never thought my encyclopedic knowledge of Captain Underpants would be worth anything!

  4. Karen D permalink
    August 2, 2013 10:41 am

    I got Captain Underpants and le Carre, but no one else…

  5. carolinebingley permalink
    August 3, 2013 9:14 am

    I only got Le Carre. But the calypso versus pen is intriguing.

  6. August 3, 2013 4:31 pm

    Beckett! I never get any of these, and I got Beckett!

  7. August 9, 2013 9:26 am

    My apologies to all for my delinquent comment here. Jeanne asked me to post the answers in her absence, but failed to calculate my absent-mindedness. Here they are:
    Children’s: Captain Underpants
    Classics: Samuel Beckett
    Non-Fiction: John O’Hara
    Book Club: Margaret George
    Authors: Maya Angelou
    Book Bag: John le Carre

  8. August 13, 2013 3:04 pm

    Me, too! I knew Beckett, too! (and also John LeCarre — I wouldn’t say reduced, it was a good book!)

Leave a Reply

