Skip to content

Bookshelfie

August 22, 2013

Have you seen the Tumblr blog called Bookshelfies? (Update: or the shelfie gallery at A Truth Universally Acknowledged?)  I submitted this photo.

photo-180These are the double-stacked titles you can see:

Teuthold, The Necromancer
Wells, The Death of the Necromancer
Baum, American Fairy Tales
Tolstaya, The Slynx
Schlitz, Splendors and Glooms
Waters, Break My Heart 1,000 Times
Flieger, Green Suns and Faerie
Rosoff, There Is No Dog
Martin, This Is a Book

Valente, Palimpsest
Crook, Sleeping Patterns
Jemisin, The Killing Moon
Mitchell, Cloud Atlas
Gaskell, Cranford
Williams, Stoner
Valente, The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland
Valente, The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland
Chabon, Telegraph Avenue
Didion, The Year of Magical Thinking

Walton, The Prize In the Game
Walton, The King’s Name
Walton, The King’s Peace
Kaye, Don’t Open This Book!
Hamm, Illinois, My Apologies
Bacigalupi, The Windup Girl
Godwin, Lives of Necromancers
Weir, Captive Queen
Lipsky, Although Of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself

Some of these are books I haven’t gotten around to yet. Are there any you particularly recommend? If so, tell me why in the comments, please!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2013 12:50 pm

    Great “shelfie”! Fun site too. Though I wonder why so many people are wearing sunglasses?

    • August 25, 2013 9:05 am

      Maybe their eyes are bloodshot from reading too much and this is their one chance to look cool.

  2. August 23, 2013 12:12 am

    I want to read half the books on your shelf! lol they all sound good, don’t they?

    • August 25, 2013 9:07 am

      Yes. This is a shelf with books I’ve just read and books I haven’t read yet double-stacked in front of books we love but haven’t read in a while.

  3. August 23, 2013 9:22 am

    I opposite recommend the Alison Weir, but only because I don’t like her, not because I know anything about The Captive Queen.

    • August 25, 2013 9:08 am

      The Weir is there because it’s a book about Eleanor of Acquitaine, and I read everything about her. Eleanor is partly named after her, and partly after the flower of Lorien.

  4. August 23, 2013 12:01 pm

    I’ve not read any of them (I have the Jemisin and Mitchell though). Jenny’s comment kind of backs up what I was going to say. I’ve not read The Captive Queen, but have found that Alison Weir is either very good or very bad, and it’s hit or miss as to whether a particular book will ‘work’.

    • August 25, 2013 9:08 am

      Now I’m curious and will have to pick up the Weir book sooner.

  5. August 24, 2013 6:27 pm

    There is no dog?! tell me not so!

  6. August 24, 2013 6:29 pm

    OH! I own the Lipsky Although Of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself!!! Tell me if/when you read it so maybe I can join in on a totally informal nonsanctioned groupy/stalking-readalong…

    • August 25, 2013 9:09 am

      I’ve actually read bits of that one. It seems to me a book you can dip in and out of, so I’ll let you know if I try another bit and get seized with it and plan to write about it! Also, the Cranford? That’s from you!

  7. August 24, 2013 6:55 pm

    i have read one of those (the joan didion) and heard of another (the chabon) – and i’ve never heard of any of the others!

    • August 25, 2013 9:10 am

      Those are two I’ve read. Behind the double-stacked Telegraph Avenue is a copy of Summerland, by the way.

Leave a Reply

